How to get gigabit ethernet?

vuronev

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
14 May 2004
Messages
15
Just wondering if anyone could help me out with some info on gigabit ethernet.

I see all these new mobos with built-in gigabit ethernet ports, and gigabit ethernet NICs arn't too expensive either.

What I'm wondering is will I need to find and purchase a gigabit capable router to connect to my Cable Modem (and to a gigabit NIC of course) so that I could take advantage of higher speeds?

Is the speed increase that significant at this point?

I have looked around at various sites and haven't really found any information on gigabit routers that are priced for home use (just alot of extremely expensive corporate hardware).

Any info would be appreciated, thanks!
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
10/100 BaseT is the standard for most routers/switches.
As you've noticed, the gigabit one is 1000mbps. So yes, you will need to find a router/switch that is capable of transferring data at the higher rate.
You will notice a major difference when transferring files across to your other computers in a home network environment, but not for the internet and you are limited to the ISP's connection rating... e.g 512kbps or 1mbps download.

If you've used firewire to send a file across to another machine, you should have noticed the speed at which it flies across. Well, think of gigabit ethernet as doing that at twice the speed.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
The speed increase is only on your internal network and all computers will need to be upgarded to take advantage of it. The internet is limited by your cable modem speed which is no faster than 10M ethernet. If you have a 100M setup now unless you run a local server for several computers sharing files and applications gigbyte buys you nothing. You will also have to repalce all of your LAN wiring with new high speed cables.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
If you are intending to go for a gigabit ethernet mobo, I can only suggest that you get it for use on a home network only.
The current 10/100mbps routers/switches are way more than enough for internet use at this present moment, and even for the foreseeable future.

But I do stress that it will make a major difference for home networks, especially when large amounts of data is being transferring from A to B.
 

Reg

eXperienced!
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
639
The only reason I see you would need GigE is if you are transferring huge amounts of data across your home network. For me, I have GigE in my house for several reasons. One is because I have a very large home network. But mainly because I have a few cameras around that monitor my home and home office. The audio and video from the cameras are streamed to through my network to my A/V server where they are stored until I archive them to DVD. So, I have a reason for the speed. Otherwise, if you are just running your everyday home network, 10/100Mb will be all you would need.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,678
Connected to BT at 4m, but local connection is a gig.
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
15,804
He does at work, on dial-up at home *laughs*

*runs away*

I've got GigaBit ethernet here, it's being fully utilised by my 512k DSL :p :D
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
SPeedY_B said:
He does at work, on dial-up at home *laughs*

*runs away*

I've got GigaBit ethernet here, it's being fully utilised by my 512k DSL :p :D
lol. thought it was too good to be true. surprised by the dial-up status though.. haha.

btw, the normal 10/100 fully utilises the 512k DSL connections, don't they??
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,678
Yeah, I got 4m connection at work to our WAN.
Nothing like TSing into Scotland and abusing stuff there.

I can pretty much download anything I like as I know how to beat the proxy ;p
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,678
Word is I will have broadband by the end of the year.
They didn't mention if the word "year" in this case mean't this year, decade or century.
I remain hopeful tho.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,401
Members
5,586
Latest member
PseudoKiller