how many hard drives can win xp pro see?

canadian_divx

Canadian_divx
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
1,554
how many HDD's can win xp pro see and how much space can it see? i know there is a limit but i dont know waht it is

i am just woundering because i am building a 1.5tb server and was thinking for an easy os i would use XP and also for remote desktop
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
Well SATA RAID controllers such as the RC4000 Series Serial ATA RAID Controllers can use up to 32 drives.

And it has greater than 2 Terabyte support per array.

And supports Windows 2000, XP and 2003.

Adaptec also has Serial ATA 16-port RAID cards. Soooo that's alot.

I don't know how much capacity XP can use though.

Maybe this will help?

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/...windows/xp/all/reskit/en-us/prkc_fil_tdrn.asp
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political Access
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
18,474
I found this also:

Problems running 2 250gb hard drives with xp pro?
DanG
I'm gearing up for the boxing day sales and am hoping to get a pair of WD 250GB se's for cheap tomorrow or the day after.
I'm going to be running them off a promise ata card that they say will support LBA 48bit larger than 137gb as long as I have the newest bios for the card, which is not a problem to do, it's more so windows that I'm concerned with.
Xp pro, with SP1. Any problem getting it to see the full capacity of the 2 drives?

Geeky1
None whatsoever.

I've got 4 160GB hard drives in my dual 2500 system, and they're in 2, 2-drive RAID 0 arrays; each array has a formatted capacity of ~310GB, and Win XP sees all 310GB just fine.
Don't know if any of this or my other post is helpful or not.
 

dick471

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
9 Sep 2002
Messages
47
I'm running 13 Hard Drives on IDE, SCSI, USB, Promise for a total of 947.5GB's and have no problem in XP Pro. Other devices (DVD burners, etc) complete the 26 drive letters allowed. It takes about 7 minutes to boot completely to a working desktop, but I'm retired and have lots of time. Everything works fine.
 

Tweakfiend

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
6 Jan 2004
Messages
340
As gonaads mentioned difficult to see what if any limit XP has.
I have 2@120GB .and 1@40GB IDE133's and 1@120GB Sata =400 GB ......no problem.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
I think the limit is actually in partitions, I don't think you can have more than 24; C-Z since A,B are reserved for floppies, but if you use an array I would think that 2TB is the limit.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,401
Members
5,586
Latest member
PseudoKiller