How do you tell its a 9700 or a 9700pro from comp?

GoNz0

NTFS Stoner
Joined
Mar 4, 2002
Messages
2,781
#2
right click a blank part of the desktop and press properties > settings, will tell you there, card type attached to monitor type.
 

dpr

NTFS Junkie
Joined
May 14, 2002
Messages
147
#3
Are you asking because you think you have been sold a 9700 instead of a 9700 Pro ?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#4
Its actually under:

Right Click blank area of screen - select properties - select settings - select advanced tab - select adapter. Will say at top of screen.

Or

Right click My COmputer - select manage - select device manager - select display adapter. All of your hardware is under device manager.
 

fantasi

My Yngy is My HoneY!
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
307
#7
yup...well thats what i thought i would get......obviously there is a difference in core and memory frequency. does anyone have a default 9700 and 9700 pro in terms of speed for each of them?
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#11
Umm, didn't it say on the box or was this a used card?

You can also download sisoft sandra and under the video card info it will say

The ati web site has a comparison page where you can select 2 cards and see the differences.

If you have the pro it hsould have an overclocking option in their control panel that will show you the speeds.
 

cryogenic

OSNN Addict
Joined
Oct 26, 2003
Messages
241
#12
9700 Pro should be 325 core/300 mem, if I remember correctly... I actually bought a card expecting a Pro, but it was a whitebox OEM made by powercolor. I found out much later that Powercolor doesn't clock their OEM cards as high. It came clocked @ 325/300, but would crash constantly at those speeds... I found out from Powercolor's site that it was only supposed to be 277 core, 270 mem. I run it at around 285/290 and it runs fine now. But I thought I was buying a pro. :(
 

Howling Wolf

We did not deserve this !
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
1,243
#13
cryogenic said:
9700 Pro should be 325 core/300 mem, if I remember correctly... I actually bought a card expecting a Pro, but it was a whitebox OEM made by powercolor. I found out much later that Powercolor doesn't clock their OEM cards as high. It came clocked @ 325/300, but would crash constantly at those speeds... I found out from Powercolor's site that it was only supposed to be 277 core, 270 mem. I run it at around 285/290 and it runs fine now. But I thought I was buying a pro. :(
Strange what you say, I bought a Powercolor 9800Pro (brand new, retail, but half the retail price at time it was launched about 1 year ago or so...), and it is clocked as Ati tells it should be, minus 2-3Mhz but Sazar (Ati specialist here) told me at this time is was normal to have a tiny difference from one video card to another... but mine isn't an OEM one, that should explain it... :confused:
 

cryogenic

OSNN Addict
Joined
Oct 26, 2003
Messages
241
#15
Oddly enough, ONLY the 9700 Bulk/OEM is clocked lower than its retail counterpart.... I saw a 9800 OEM that was clocked at ATI-spec. Figures, though.. my luck, I get the one junker. :( I paid $280 for it a year ago, when the pros were still $400 in stores, so I don't guess it was all that bad. It plays everything I throw at it.
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#16
the actual clocks for the 9700pro are 324/310 mhz... core/mem...

the clocks for the stock 9700 are 275/270 core/mem

an overclocking tool such as rage3d's tuner or one of various others will report your exact core/mem speeds...
 

dpr

NTFS Junkie
Joined
May 14, 2002
Messages
147
#17
There was quite a few questions a while ago at rage3d forums from people who had bought a 9700pro but thought they had been sent a 9700. There is a few ways to turn a non pro into a pro and the only way to tell the difference that I now of is by looking at the brand and model number of the memory on the actual card not by software
 

fantasi

My Yngy is My HoneY!
Joined
Jan 24, 2004
Messages
307
#19
oh well i think i have a 9700 pro from the speed check. thanks guys. but now, the default 320 317 is makin price of persia seem as if i overclocked it, you know when u see all those artifacts that are not suppose to be tehre. i didnt even overclock it yet :(. So i was thinking should i change the fan on the card with this http://www.pccasegear.com/prod1065.htm . I mean will it make a difference. Ive already got artic silver 3 so that should help. Tell me if i should buy that. thx
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#20
the default clocks are 324/310... perhaps what you have is a flashed 9500 series card...

btw the vga silencer is apparently a decent product... several people I know have used it and say its pretty decent...
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,028
Messages
673,529
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks