Home Network

Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
107
#1
Ok, this is my first time creating a Server this big (atleast to me it is :nervous:.) It has a File Server (Local network only), firewall, Internet, etc. I have a image of the layout and want to know if this is correct? I have all the hardware already.
 

Attachments

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#2
you may want to remove the hub and buy a 4 port switch/router/firewall if this is for home Other then that it will work.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
107
#3
you may want to remove the hub and buy a 4 port switch/router/firewall if this is for home Other then that it will work.
Sorry for the bad image :dead: The house will have 6 computers on at a time, plus the Laptops. I only have a 4 port router. Will the Hub not work at all? Should I connect eth1 to Router then connect the hub to that?
 

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#4
Sorry for the bad image :dead: The house will have 6 computers on at a time, plus the Laptops. I only have a 4 port router. Will the Hub not work at all? Should I connect eth1 to Router then connect the hub to that?
Hubs are a thing of the past, will it work? YES

HOWEVER, not without performance issues.

A little networking 101:

a Hub and switch are basically the same thing with one MAJOR exception...

A HUB is a "dumb" device... it doesnt care who is "supposed" to recieve what packet, it sends the same information to ALL ports, forcing every computer on the hub to wade through all the information NOT intended for itself...

Basically a load of garbage traffic congests the network slowing performance, ESPECIALLY if you do alot of file transfers from one PC to another...

A SWITCH on the other hand, uses the MAC address of each specific NIC on that node to determine "WHO" (what PC) the packet is meant to goto.

So, in short, its much better to goto eBay or Amazon and buy a 6 or 8 port switch and avoid all the extra traffic on your network..

cheers... hope this helps, and makes sense to you...

Mike A!
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
107
#5
Hubs are a thing of the past, will it work? YES

HOWEVER, not without performance issues.

A little networking 101:

a Hub and switch are basically the same thing with one MAJOR exception...

A HUB is a "dumb" device... it doesnt care who is "supposed" to recieve what packet, it sends the same information to ALL ports, forcing every computer on the hub to wade through all the information NOT intended for itself...

Basically a load of garbage traffic congests the network slowing performance, ESPECIALLY if you do alot of file transfers from one PC to another...

A SWITCH on the other hand, uses the MAC address of each specific NIC on that node to determine "WHO" (what PC) the packet is meant to goto.

So, in short, its much better to goto eBay or Amazon and buy a 6 or 8 port switch and avoid all the extra traffic on your network..

cheers... hope this helps, and makes sense to you...

Mike A!
Thanks, that helped me a bunch! Time to go buy a switch :)
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
107
#7
I was looking at some switches and they show 4 extra ports, eg. I saw a 24 port one with extra 4 ports labled: 21, 22, 23, 24. Then had LEDS with a labels: 2X is in use (X for number 1-4). What are those?
 

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#8
I was looking at some switches and they show 4 extra ports, eg. I saw a 24 port one with extra 4 ports labled: 21, 22, 23, 24. Then had LEDS with a labels: 2X is in use (X for number 1-4). What are those?
do you have a link?

a 24 port switch should actually have 25 ports...

24 active ports and an uplink port, depending on manufacturer...
 

lancer

There is no answer!
Political User
Joined
Oct 7, 2004
Messages
3,093
#9
some actually just have 24 ports with the first being able to uplink as well in the settings.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
107
#10

Attachments

Last edited:

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#11
here are some images grabbed off of an ebay auction

found in the decription: 4 Mini GBIC ports (Empty - shared with Ports 21-24)
then looked on wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GBIC

can someone clearify what you can use it for?
OK NOW it makes sense..

If you look closely, you will see the GBIC connectors (the small sqaure ones to the right of the last set of ethernet connections) THey SHARE the last four connections, and what you are seeing is the showing of that same thing.

EDIT: When I was typing this you had not found the answer... LOL!

You could use that, but I would use something smaller...

I will see what I can dig up

:D
 
Last edited:

mlakrid

OSNN BASSMASTER
Political User
Joined
Feb 15, 2005
Messages
2,346
#12
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicat...48-2220&SRCCODE=GOOGLEBASE&CMP=OTC-GOOGLEBASE

Something like this maybe...

I was hoping for something much cheaper however...

http://www.smarthome.com/8651118.html

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=380673&CatId=867

Never heard of these guys but for $44.00 you can’t go wrong.

http://www.circuitcity.com/ccd/productDetail.do?oid=93820&WT.mc_n=4&WT.mc_t=U&cm_ven=COMPARISON%20SHOPPING&cm_cat=GOOGLE&cm_pla=DATAFEED->PRODUCTS&cm_ite=1%20PRODUCT&cm_keycode=4

HERE is what I was thinking of… more ports than you have computers, and half the price I found earlier…

Or another even cheaper one… I amaze myself…
http://sewelldirect.com/ethernetlanswitchinghub8port.asp

and one more:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006B9HO/ref=nosim/102-8455687-9845711?n=172282

If you cant choose one from this list… something is seriously wrong

J

Mike A!

 
Last edited:

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,028
Messages
673,529
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks