Help with home network P2p

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#1
I am in the process of trying to set up my home network. It is p2p for file nd print share (only till I get my file server). I have two pc's running on a netgear mr814 router. I have prob where on this pc I can see the other computer, but when I try to axx it I get a "you don't have authorization" error. On the other pc I can't see this pc to try and axx it .. .

I have ran the set up qizard several times, set shared folders, have them both on the same work group. and am using xp home on both machines. I have the foggiest what I am doing wrong here. I am like totally lost lol ..

Any help would be appreciated ..
 

devynal

The Idiot Circus Boy
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
114
#2
Make sure Windows' built in firewall is disabled on the LAN. I left it enabled on a laptop that I had home networked and the firewall was causing it to not file-share or print-share at all.

Sometimes also when I go to access another computer across the network, an error will popup saying target device not found -- I click ok and then it comes up... goofy Windows.
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#3
i really dont think windows firewall will restrict your file sharing for your LAN
but its windows you never know :)
if you can access the files?
""""I try to axx it """"
wtf is AXX it?
or what exactally cant you do?
right click on the HD and goto sharing make sure u have "allow users to change files" something like that there is a setting that letes other users allow you to change the files enable that
i had that disabled once and it casued me all sorts of problems

hope i helped
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#4
celticfan11 said:
i really dont think windows firewall will restrict your file sharing for your LAN
but its windows you never know :)
if you can access the files?
""""I try to axx it """"
wtf is AXX it?
or what exactally cant you do?
right click on the HD and goto sharing make sure u have "allow users to change files" something like that there is a setting that letes other users allow you to change the files enable that
i had that disabled once and it casued me all sorts of problems

hope i helped
Thanx for the help. Axx mean access - I am trying to set up file share and print share between two pc's. I run the wizard numerous times and it keeps telling me I have to have a primary pc to give INTERNET access to, and a client pc that will share the INTERNET connection with the primary pc. I am running this through a netgear mr814 router. I just want to share files between the two of them. It will not work. I have tried to make various files shared and it put the shortcuts from the source pc's in the network places folder of each computer. The prob I am having is that this pc will see the other pc but when I try to connect to it I get an error saying that I do not have permission. and then when I try to map the drive it shows the other pc but when I click on it it says the drive could not be found on the network. The other pc won't even connect, it tells me that I don't have permission to access the workgroup, or the workgroup doesn't exist.. I also have the built in firewall turned off.. I do however have Zone Alarm running. I did disable it and it still did this, so I don't think that was it.

This is driving me crazy, I don't understand why it is not working. I did everything the help in M$ told me also. any help will be appreciated..
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#5
when you do the wizard
do you choose the option where it says you are using a residual gateway or something like that
your internet is from a gate way

and the router has a build in switch im assuming
so as long as the switch is working just plugging the PC's into it... they should be able to see eachother
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#6
Yes the router is a switch and like I said this one can see the other pc but won't axx it and the other pc won't even connect to the workgroup. I'm just going to say screw it and get my file server done.

Thanx for the help anyhow..
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#7
I know this is a bit of an old bump - but I am having same issue - need to share from a Pro to a Home system to grab the stuff I want to save from Home before I reformat to Pro on the old Home one.... any help anyone? I am wondering if this is a shortcoming of Home now after the reading I just did....

Ironic I need the facility to help with the upgrade to pro?! :(
 

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
Joined
Aug 29, 2002
Messages
3,763
#9
more complicated

TittleBitties said:
What r u planing to save?
ah - well basically that starts to get more complicated to explain - I will make a new thread I think, this was just a very close one to resurrect, but now I think about it my situation is a bit different....

Feel free to lock this thread if you think it should be any mod....

[EDIT] here is the other thread I made [/EDIT]
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#10
I found that my problem was zone alarm. It was not set up right. I inunstalled it and it worked perfect. When I reinstalled it I had to go into the trusted zones and add the ip for each pc on the network that was able to have axx to my network. Once I did that it worked perfect ..
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,014
Messages
673,493
Members
89,034
Latest member
MichaelPowers