help, need to go back

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
i installed service pack 2, but i cant get past the activation. my legal cd key wont work and neither will any :p ;) keys.

i managed to fnd a way to access explorer. and managed to load system restore but when i run a restore point it closes the activation and instantly logs me out of windows. i managed to also get into control panel but it wont uninstall because it says something is running.

i dont know what else to do, are there any ways anyone can help me get past the activation or roll back my computer from dos or something?

ANY help appreciated, its urgent so if anyone does have an immediate answer you can contact me on msn: mike@forcer.org

any help much appreciated
 

GoNz0

NTFS Stoner
Joined
Mar 4, 2002
Messages
2,781
press f8 as the pc is starting and try last known good config from the F8 menu
 

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
i tried that, never worked, probly because its still a known good configuration it just wants me to activate it... not recognised as something bad.. hmm
 

Bootsy

Huh?
Joined
Feb 20, 2004
Messages
1,124
Last known good config only works if you have not logged into the local PC. Once you have logged in, its useless.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
Are you using the volume license edition? I doesn't work well with that one( I have read complaints on different forums about this, not all, but some), even if it is legal. Glitch or something. Hell, it is a Beta. :D

Also did you have SP1 installed or did ya just go straight for SP2 beta?
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
gonaads said:
Are you using the volume license edition? I doesn't work well with that one( I have read complaints on different forums about this, not all, but some), even if it is legal. Glitch or something. Hell, it is a Beta. :D

Also did you have SP1 installed or did ya just go straight for SP2 beta?
i installed the latest sp2 beta on a vlk (legitimate.)....and it works fine.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
forcer, just call MicroSquish... tell them what is happening, then they would just give you a new product activation key. Simple.
 

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
i tried to get help off microsoft, which was unsuccessful, apparently my problem is something to do with not having a corperate edition. if i have one, i wont be asked for windows activation. any1 know anything about this? i went and got xp pro corporate edition slipstreamed with sp1a... shud i use it?
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,274
You can't just uninstall sp2 from add/remove programs like w/ sp1?
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
do a repair installation of your legal version of XP.

boot from the CD, and i believe it's the 3rd instance where it says repair.

You can't just uninstall sp2 from add/remove programs like w/ sp1?
not if you can't get into windows at all.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,274
cpugeniusmv said:
not if you can't get into windows at all.
You also can't use the control panel or other things he listed as doing :p

Oh but he does say it won't uninstall cuz of something running ... my bad.
 

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
yes it can be uninstalled, the only reason i have this kind of access to my computer is because when you enter a serial thats incorroect underneath gives u a link to a webpage click that and it loads IE, type C:/ in the adress bar and it givs me access to my computer from this i can get into control panel but when i try to uninstall it rables on about something from installation running(activation) soit cant uninstall at this time.

if i use xp corp then will the activation go?
 

forcer

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Oct 18, 2002
Messages
413
yes, my last serial was legit but it wouldnt let me past the activiation, i tried legit and non legit but neither worked. the closest i got after checking out microsoft and around on the net was something to do with me not having a corp. version which apparently does not go through the activation process?
 
L

Lee

Guest
forcer said:
yes, my last serial was legit but it wouldnt let me past the activiation, i tried legit and non legit but neither worked. the closest i got after checking out microsoft and around on the net was something to do with me not having a corp. version which apparently does not go through the activation process?

Phone the M$ activation centre. You have a legit serial then there should be no problems.

Xie said:
You can't just uninstall sp2 from add/remove programs like w/ sp1?
Au Contrare yes you can uninstall sp2, I have done it twice.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
Ummmm... your last serial was legit???

How many do you have?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy? :(
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?

Forum statistics

Threads
61,978
Messages
673,285
Members
89,064
Latest member
Plesuvius