Help me move my HDDs to my new server

Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
73
#1
Hey guys,

I have a server running 2k3 Server. I have built a new machine to replace it and would like to make a complete image of my old server and load it onto the new one...I cannot have any downtime, so what can I do? I considered a TrueImage backup of my existing server...can I load this directly onto the new machine? I would, of course, format the old machine so that I'm not in violation of any software keys or anything. Since the new machine is completely different, it will have new drivers, etc...what is the best way to handle this?

Thanks in advance! :)
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#2
The best way is to setup the new server first, config, copy files, install software and then switch. Using a drive image program isnt a good idea as windows is attached to that system viz drivers. You would have to do a repair install which I never recommend on an entire system swap, to recover files fine.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
#3
If the hardware was exactly the same, you could do a image through Acronis, that lets you boot to a CD, run your services from that CD, until the image finishes downloading to the PC.

I think this may work on different platforms, but a machine that important I wouldn't risk it on a PDC
 

X-Istence

*
Political User
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
6,498
#4
he said it was a completely new machine, if it had been the same it would have been as easy as just taking the hard drive out of the old machine and putting it in the new machine.

Your best bet is to install an entire new system, and slowly move everything over with testing in between, especially things that could go wrong. If the server is brand new, make sure it undergoes some stress tests to find the weaknesses and whatnot.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
73
#5
he said it was a completely new machine, if it had been the same it would have been as easy as just taking the hard drive out of the old machine and putting it in the new machine.

Your best bet is to install an entire new system, and slowly move everything over with testing in between, especially things that could go wrong. If the server is brand new, make sure it undergoes some stress tests to find the weaknesses and whatnot.
Oh okay...I was hoping that there was some shortcut...yeah the new server is completely different so i can't just swap drives...that would be nice! What do you guys recommend for burn-in or diagnostics?

Thx!
 

Admiral Michael

Michaelsoft Systems CEO
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,123
#6
IMO shortcuts leads to problems, maybe not now but down the road. And if this is an important server then shortcuts shouldn't really be taken.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,021
Latest member
Mariaomero