Has someone phoned me when I was online ?

R

Rami

Hello guys,

I wonder if there is a method that I can know if someone is phoning me while im connected to the internet. I use a dial up modem.

Do I need a special hardware (( A special modem )) ?
Or do I need a special telephone service (( like call waiting )) ?
Or do I need a special software that does that ?

Or do I need ALL the previous items ?

this is like a multiple choice question :D

Note: I'm very new at internet stuff.

Please help me :(

Well you don't need call waiting. If that is on & someone calls you loose the connection to the web.

Yeah but how can I know that someone is actually calling me right now ?
because when I'm online, the line is busy>

You can't unless your phone company has this service to offer. At least not as far as I know.

Internet Alert IA510

Most Internet users share a single telephone line for all Internet and telephone activities. During Internet sessions, incoming calls are missed. Internet Alert™ is the cost-effective way to create a virtual second line.

Using Call Waiting telephone service, Internet Alert™ identifies the presence of an incoming call and gives the user the option to take the second call or carry on surfing.

http://www.otherlandtoys.co.uk/alert510.htm

:cool:

I have seen software to do this but it does depend on some services you phone company offers, as Zedric says, can't remember what though

Modems that support the V.92 standard will allow you to put your internet connection "on hold" for a short duration to take a quick call. Your ISP has to support V.92 as well and you have to have the call-waiting service.