Gonna build my PC today!

Mubbers

Shoot!
Political User
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
1,087
#1
I've bought new:

3.4 GHz Intel P4 cpu
Asus p800d mobo
2 GB Corsair PC4000 ram

I'm using from my old PC:

nVidia Ti 4600 128 mb graphics card
2 x 40 GB HDDs at 133 & 100 ATA
Creative labs 4.1 soundcard
Lite-on CDRW/DVD rom
3.5" FDD
The Case

Any tips on the build?

One thing I was thinking of already was the cpu/heatsink. The heat sink appears to have a sticky patch already on it. But I bought some coolermaster heat compound. Should I try and remove the sticky but from the heat sink? If so how?

Mubbers
 

Unleashed

We Speak Geek
Joined
Jul 26, 2003
Messages
1,249
#2
Definetly scrape off the patch on the heatsink, just use a small piece of plastic or something like that.
Otherwise, thats one hell of a system you got there!
 

Mubbers

Shoot!
Political User
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
1,087
#4
Bit of a FUBAR...

That memory advertised as 1GB ram (small print twin 512mb) well it's 2 512mb sticks, thus I have FOUR sticks when I thought I was getting TWO. MOBO has three slots. GGRRRRRRR!

I did consider the "twin 512" and believed this meant it was doubled sided with 512 on each side.

Ahem.
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
736
#8
Mubbers said:
230 Watts

hmmm, you might want to consider beefing that up a bit - between the P4, 3x (4 :p) sticks of RAM, and the dual HDD, vid card, etc... that 230 isn't going to be enough :eek:

you might get away with it - but I don't think it would be safe to even try
 

Mubbers

Shoot!
Political User
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Messages
1,087
#9
Actually I lied it's 250W is that still not enough, if not what should I go up to?

I'm checking out 450W PSUs that are designed for P4 etc. fairly cheap.
 

gonaads

Beware the G-Man
Political User
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
18,474
#10
Anything from 350 watts on up is yer best bet to be safe. You may get by with a 300 watt but... Ya don't want to overwork that PSU...
Just remember, once ya let the smoke out of it you can never get in back in.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#13
Great specs! Congrats!

And I agree...you're better off going for at least a 350W PSU. 400-450W should be your best bets though...just to allow for future additions.
 

Gary Pandher

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Mar 9, 2004
Messages
884
#14
thas gona b one sweet system..have fun with it..wish i had tha kinda $$$ right now lol..definatly upgrade the psu..250 is not enough for sure..
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
Feb 8, 2004
Messages
226
#15
so you spent all kinds of money on that system and you didnt even invest in a board that can do decent dual channel ddr capabilities? wtf were you thinking. screw returning the ram, return the motherboard and get a better one.
 

breezie

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
126
#16
errr... watts really doesnt matter... its all about the voltages and quality-

u'll learn if u buy a cheapo generic 450watt ^_^
 

Goatman

Ska Daddy
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
676
#17
Dude, the Asus P4800 Deluxe is not a bad mobo... just cuz it only has three slots means nothing... every nForce 2 motherboard made only has 3 slots! and it's a good dual channel setup
 

Taggert_LOA

Modding Addict
Political User
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
Messages
479
#18
well in any event. let me know what you paid and we'll talk. i'll be more than happy, to give you a "refund". just translate it into american dollars for me lol.
 
Joined
May 23, 2003
Messages
736
#19
Goatman said:
Dude, the Asus P4800 Deluxe is not a bad mobo... just cuz it only has three slots means nothing... every nForce 2 motherboard made only has 3 slots! and it's a good dual channel setup
"dude", if it only has three slots... then it cant be a good dual channel setup, good setups are going to have equal physical support for each channel... 3 slots = technically a 1.5 channel setup...


edit/ wow, that came off alot more ass-like than I thought, so sorry... (dont drink and type dont drink and type)
 

Ded Morozh

I don't DISlike you...
Joined
Feb 16, 2004
Messages
125
#20
The Nforce2 set up with 3 slots IS a dual channel system, but it can only support up to 2 Gigs in Dual Channel mode usually. It's one memory channel per stick. I have seen dual channel set ups with 4 slots, but those are usually on p4 and AMD64 boards
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,028
Messages
673,537
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks