Going Commando?

BouncingSoul

Stranger Than Fiction
Political User
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
1,303
I like that title. Basically what I'm referring to is the act running a system with no protection. No Antivirus, no software firewall. I'd probably have some sort of spyware scanner handy just in case but that would be it.

I have multiple reasons for this 1st one being the number of crashes I endure. I posted a question about this before and was shown how to read the minidump files. The results are something in Symantec AV failing and the system crashes. Usually a reinstall of my AV package with fix it but not for long. Then it starts up again. I guess I could try an alternate product but I don't really want one. Any AV product I've used has been such a resource hog it's almost unbearable.

The reason for me wanting to ditch my software firewall (Zone Alarm) is because of how bloated it is. The thing prompts me for everything, like that Mac Ad. X is trying to access the internet allow or deny. X is trying to blah blah. Even checking allow always doesn't seem to help. If its a frequently changing program (WoW for example) I have to click through 5 windows just to play the game. I'm sick of it. I check basically the same sites daily, I use firefox, I don't have outlook. I figure I should be safe on the AV front. I honestly have no idea why I ever got a firewall other than I was told I should have one some years back. So in the end is it personal preference or is there really some reason to have all this crap on my system. What do you guys do? Do you run this stuff? If you do, do you have a recommendation for a product that doesn't hog resources and just quietly does its job?
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
I've been running "commando" for the last several months, actually - no antivirus and no software firewall (apart from the built-in Windows Firewall that's on by default). Even before that, the antivirus was more of a safety net; I can't remember the last time I actually had any malware on any of my machines.

Like you, I just got tired of wasting system resources on processes that I found unnecessary. :)

Before that, I was using Kerio as my software firewall and NOD32 or AOL AVS (based on the Kaspersky engine) as my antivirus.
 

zeke_mo

(value not set)
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Aug 25, 2004
Messages
1,988
I went commando one time and forgot to wear a belt...yeah I can never go back to that gym again....
 

omg its nlm

lvl 17 Hax
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
1,829
I been commando for a few years.

ZA is not needed in anyway on your home PC thats for sure.

If you know what you are doing. Go commando.

At work I use it but thats common sense since I am not controlling everything that comes and goes.

My friends that know nothing are so funny. They are like omg someone is going to hack you or give you a virus. Umm no. What moron would want to hack into my PC? I have a router so they have to get by that first and yeah as far as I am concerned its not needed.

Who uses it and what are your reasons? I think if I was not the only on my PC I would just have AVG or something on there.
 

Petros

Thief IV
Joined
May 19, 2003
Messages
3,038
Partially commando...I use a software firewall for reasons other than security. I like to be able to monitor and block programs that attempt to call home or malicious code that wishes to do the same.
 

X-Istence

*
Political User
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
6,498
Firewall only, on Mac OS X. And I run without elevated priviledges.
 

vertigo

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
330
i have a router and a basic software firewall, only used for blocking/allowing apps. that's it.

if you know what you're doing there is no need for virus or spyware checks.
 

Geffy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
7,805
If you're email server does virus scanning, or you pretty much only use webmail I see no point. I don't run AV on my Mac, but I've got the built in firewall on.
 

ray_gillespie

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,693
Just running AVG with the Vista firewall. That doesn't seem to use too many resources but is cool. Ditched Zone Alarm years ago :)
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
My Exchange Server doesn't have AV or a software firewall. I've been looking into Forefront Security for Exchange but I haven't gotten around to installing it.
 

BouncingSoul

Stranger Than Fiction
Political User
Joined
Jan 30, 2004
Messages
1,303
Thanks all. I figured most of us here wouldn't run much of anything or would at least have some good suggestions. I'm due for a reformat anyways so I guess I can skip the resource hogs this time.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political User
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
2,465
I would be going commando except for the fact that my wife uses my system, as for firewall I just use the router that I have and windows firewall. As for AV i run AVG for basic stuff because of the wife and I'm waiting for AOL active virus shield to get updated for vista and to take a look at antivir when it gets updated for vista.

I'd rather have a wife and AV then no wife and no AV !!!! sorry felt like adding that.
 

Geffy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
7,805
I do run AV software (AntiVir) on my parallels Windows install but I use that for MS Outlook and work email and we sometimes get the odd virus to our company abuse mailbox.
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political User
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Messages
10,574
Hmm this is interesting. Didn't realize so many people don't use any protection...

I'm just paranoid about downloads.
 

Evil Marge

I Rule
Political User
Joined
Jul 4, 2002
Messages
6,579
I've often seen people say they have no anti virus software and never had a virus, how pray tell would you know you've not got a virus sitting on your pc if you have no virus scanner to check? :crosseyed: :laugh:

Oh and I got a new pc today and the first thing I put on was AVG :D
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
I've often seen people say they have no anti virus software and never had a virus, how pray tell would you know you've not got a virus sitting on your pc if you have no virus scanner to check? :crosseyed: :laugh:
Because you run an on-demand scan every once in a while to check. It's just the realtime monitor that sucks up unnecessary resources.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political User
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
2,465
I think if I had a system that was bogged down enough I wouldn't run any, but so far my systems can let the av take it's resources and not ruin anything else in the process...
 

omg its nlm

lvl 17 Hax
Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
1,829
Because you run an on-demand scan every once in a while to check. It's just the realtime monitor that sucks up unnecessary resources.
Yes thats what I do.


Don't care how powerful my PC is. I would not install it. :)
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,026
At the moment having no router between my pc and the interweb I use XP's firewall, largely down to the fact I've not been bothered to turn it off yet knowing how not very useful it is.

I have nod32 running in the background as it uses so little system resources it has minimal to zero impact on my pc performance. It's also handy to protect me from my own curiosity :p
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,993
Messages
673,362
Members
89,035
Latest member
adreinrich