[General] Appeal for design help

Mainframeguy

Debiant by way of Ubuntu
OK folks - please bear with me and keep in mind although I am a coder I am no PHP nor XHTML whizz ATM.

I am really sort of hoping folks at the forum will do a little handholding if I do this but of site design from scratch, or maybe recommend something like googlepages as appropriate. I have a friend who introduced me to a good friend of hers with MS, that is the background. I am aiming to help her in some fundraising - see below:-

Exeter woman needs help to raise fee to pay for MS treatment in Holland

Agneta Mills is hoping that the revolutionary stem cell treatment will help repair damage caused by multiple sclerosis.

She read about Jan Wilks remarkable stem cell treatment in Rotterdam for her MS in the news, who had been wheel chair bound, but within days of treatment was walking again. Since then several stories have appeared in the national papers about people with MS who have traveled to Europe for the treatment, with fantastic results.

Diagnosed in 2001, her condition has deteriorated to the point where she now never leaves the house without elbow crutches, wheel chair or her mobility scooter.

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is a chronic, unpredictable neurological disease that affects the central nervous system. Damage done by scarring (sclerosis) can slow or block the nerve signals that control muscle coordination, strength, sensation and vision.

The treatment, which cost £14,000, is not available in the UK and uses stem cells from otherwise discarded umbilical cords which are injected into the blood stream. These have a remarkable potential for both self-renewal and differentiation into cell types with a specialized function, such as muscle, blood or brain cells. They replace the diseased cells with healthy cells taken from stem cells. The umbilical cords have been donated by mothers of healthy new born babies.