From XP Home to XP Pro?

David_L6

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
180
#1
A friend of mine just dropped off his computer and wants me to install XP Pro. It now has XP Home. My first thought was to take his drives out (2 drives in RAID 0), format them on one of my computers, re-install into his computer, and then install the OS. If all that isn't needed I'd just as soon not spend all the time required to do all of that. I've never tried to install an OS over an already installed OS..... What's the best way to do what I'm trying to do?
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
#2
If it were me (since I hate "upgrades") I would back up his data, reformat the drives using Windows Setup, and reinstall XP Pro.

You will likely need the RAID drivers and have to press F6 as Windows Setup starts.
 

epk

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political User
Joined
Oct 22, 2006
Messages
1,241
#3
yeah, upgrades are not that good... i would do as madmatt said

btw... if you wanna format them, can't you do it in his computer?
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
#4
Yeah.
Back up his data and do the reformat via windows.
Don't bother taking the drives out and doing it on your pc.
 

David_L6

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
180
#5
I don't have to worry about doing a backup. He said he has everything he wants on an external hard drive.

I had all kinds of problems getting my new computer running a couple of months ago. Wasn't detecting hard drives.... couldn't get RAID to work.... just about everything you can think of! I finally formatted my hard drives in another computer and then the install couldn't have been easier. (That was with an Intel "Bad Axe 2" motherboard and XP Home.)

I'm going to give it a try the way you guys recommend in just a minute.
 

David_L6

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
180
#6
Man..... I have to be doing something wrong... :ermm:

Kept getting an error message of some kind and his system wasn't detecting his floppy drive so I gave up, took the hard drives out, formatted them on my computer, put them back in and..... I am now formatting the pair (RAID 0) in his computer! :speechless:

It sure is a lot easier to install Windows on a single drive than on a RAID 0 set up. I'm now 0 for 2 on trouble free RAID 0 installs...... :(
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99