Free hosting with catches!

Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,027
#1
As most of you probably know by now (god knows I spammed enough :p) I was looking to provide hosting for a fee. However with my new shift at work I'm just not going to be around at the right time of day to provide any kind of decent support to anyone.

I've also needed to cancel all non-essential recurring spending (moving house put a squeeze on my wallet). Meaning I'll be cancelling the licenses for the support software and billing software and save myself a further £30-£40/month.

So if you want to be hosted free of charge head over to http://www.redmeteor.net/ make sure you read my Terms and conditions as well as my acceptable use policy and then post in the "hosting applications" section on my forums.

The catches are as follows:

No official support except what I and others can give through my forums and if you know my phone numbers you can call me.

I occasionally re-purpose the servers while maintaining hosting to test out software before recommending it to customers of my employer. My hosting users will be guinea pigs.

The hardware resources are limited. You will need to donate via paypal for me to get and upgrade some Dell SC440's if you want more resources :)

Have fun!
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
#6
I'm in, Whats the Domain names?
Can i bring my current domain over?
Also.
I'm having trouble registering.
I cant see the image verification

Thanks :)
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,027
#8
He'd have to proved a new server to have that much free porn hosted without affecting anyone else :p
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
7,027
#10
well send me a Dell SC440 with 2GB ram and 2x500GB disks and it can do :)

My current Sempron 2600, 1GB ram and 120GB hdd would not really be suitable for it.
 

X-Istence

*
Political User
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
6,498
#11
If I got a machine like that, it would be cheaper for me to co-locate it around Phoenix, and faster as well (in terms of data transfer) :p
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
#16
Hey, does anybody know why i cant access anything related to RedMeteor.net?
I am the only one who cant, i could before, but it says timed out now...
Its really annoying, and i assume i have to clear something.
THanks.
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political User
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Messages
10,574
#17
Vanq, half an hour after your post - I'm able to reach the site. Must be something at your end, or maybe it was a temp hiccup.
 

Vanquished

Mr. Bananagrabber
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2006
Messages
4,869
#19
Yeah i know it is on my end.
I mean is there something i need to clear on my computer for it to work?
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
#20
Normal troubleshooting would apply I wreckon.

Kill cookies/temp files, perhaps flush your dns, can you ping it?
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99