format slave to fat32

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
I dont have the option to format my slave to fat32! Is there anyother way to do this?
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
I read that just a bit ago, but they said something about only 32gb being seen? It weird too, cuz i used to have the option for fat32 format, and now i dont..btw its formating


edit..no good
 

Attachments

  • no good.jpg
    no good.jpg
    103.7 KB · Views: 156
Last edited:

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
i had a program in my old vista set up i downloaded that let me format and partition, but i forgot what it was
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
format it with windows XP :)
I suspect that won't work for volumes over 32GB either. There's a MSKB article about the limitations here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314463

The OS will recognize FAT32 volumes that are larger than 32GB, but the built-in tool can't format them. I've seen reports of people using Partition Magic to format, but there should surely be some free alternatives out there.
 
Last edited:

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political Access
Joined
21 Apr 2004
Messages
1,818
i know there are, but i cant find em. Partition magic doesn't work in vista, acronis demos kinda suck, i dont want to pay for something ill use once..
 

fitz

Woah.. I'm still here?
Political Access
Joined
26 Apr 2004
Messages
4,084
hmm... i thought that 32GB limit was only during the setup portion of XP.. if you attach/install a new drive, i thought it was possible to partition and format a FAT32 partition larger than 32GB.

I could be wrong, it's been a LONG time since I worked with FAT32 partitions.
 

anmor

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
9 Apr 2007
Messages
12
First question comes to mind why Fat 32? next if you must have Fat 32 does it have to be the whole drive or would 1 or 2 partitions suffice?
If the first question can be answered maybe someone can think of another solution.
 

American Zombie

Moderator
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
23 Jun 2004
Messages
2,961
Go to Seagate or Western Digital and download their drive tools. Either of them can format the entire drive FAT32 or NTFS no matter what the size is.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
I dont get how to use it, its just a bunch of files with no exe or anything..maybe im missing something!
It's a LiveCD, so you burn the ISO image to a CD and boot from it like you would with a Windows setup disc.
When it loads, you'll be presented with a UI to manage your disk partitions.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,425
Members
5,593
Latest member
moussa021