flashing bios help Asus mobo

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
134
#1
newbie question. Can't seem to figure out how to make a bootable floppy to flash an ASUS K8V Deluxe motherboard with the latest bios kv1005. Can anyone show me how to make one. I downloaded the zip file from asus support and copied it to disk but my machine won't boot from the floppy (even though I set my bios to boot from the floppy first).

The bios 10.01 is too old to use the afudos utility. Can't seem to figure this out.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#4
you dont want a bootable floppy, hit Alt+F2 to go to ASUS's EZFalsh utility. [at least that is what it is here]. Then just follow the directions, write down the filename, something like for me with an ASUS P4PE, p4pe1007.awd
 

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
134
#5
I used the EZ Flash Utility (alt+f2) but it said can't read floppy and then I restarted my machine. Now it's unbootable. This statement from the ASUS site sums up what happened to me. Is there anything I can do to get the board to post again?

"Be advised that flashing your BIOS is a risky procedure and should ONLY be done if necessary. If something fails during the flash, DO NOT POWER OFF YOUR MACHINE. Doing so will render your machine un-bootable."

Now what do I do? ..help
 

Chase™

NTFS Noob
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
145
#6
did u get a cd with your motherboard called ASUS CrashFree BIOS2 just boot with that cd should fix your problem..
 

GoNz0

NTFS Stoner
Joined
Mar 4, 2002
Messages
2,781
#8
send it back, if it crapped out halfway through the upgrade, your screwed. worst luck, i though asus had a utility for those mobo's to flash the bios from windows, my a7v8x does.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jan 25, 2003
Messages
5,291
#9
Odds are the Bios is trashed. Slim chance a CMOS reset might bring it back to a bootable state but unlikely.

Most likely it's RMA time to ASUS to see if they can reload the bios.

You have to unzip the bootable floppy files to your hard disk then run the setup file that is in the unzipped files. It will create a floppy for you.
 

Howling Wolf

We did not deserve this !
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Messages
1,243
#10
GoNz0 said:
[...] i though asus had a utility for those mobo's to flash the bios from windows, my a7v8x does.
Yes, it's AsusUpdate, I always flash my mobo (A7v600) from Windows and did the same for my previous mobos (A7v333, and maybe also P3v4x before, but not sure for that one (maybe I used a floppy then...)).
 

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
134
#11
Thanks for the advice all.. I sent the mobo back for a replacement - will rebuild it again this weekend.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#12
I would always suggest making sure you know 100% what your doing before you try to flash anything .. especially something as important to your system as your bios.
 

Members online

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,011
Messages
673,481
Members
89,035
Latest member
mkifyyjim