flashing bios help Asus mobo

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
12 Apr 2002
Messages
134
newbie question. Can't seem to figure out how to make a bootable floppy to flash an ASUS K8V Deluxe motherboard with the latest bios kv1005. Can anyone show me how to make one. I downloaded the zip file from asus support and copied it to disk but my machine won't boot from the floppy (even though I set my bios to boot from the floppy first).

The bios 10.01 is too old to use the afudos utility. Can't seem to figure this out.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
you dont want a bootable floppy, hit Alt+F2 to go to ASUS's EZFalsh utility. [at least that is what it is here]. Then just follow the directions, write down the filename, something like for me with an ASUS P4PE, p4pe1007.awd
 

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
12 Apr 2002
Messages
134
I used the EZ Flash Utility (alt+f2) but it said can't read floppy and then I restarted my machine. Now it's unbootable. This statement from the ASUS site sums up what happened to me. Is there anything I can do to get the board to post again?

"Be advised that flashing your BIOS is a risky procedure and should ONLY be done if necessary. If something fails during the flash, DO NOT POWER OFF YOUR MACHINE. Doing so will render your machine un-bootable."

Now what do I do? ..help
 

Chase™

NTFS Noob
Joined
8 Jan 2004
Messages
145
did u get a cd with your motherboard called ASUS CrashFree BIOS2 just boot with that cd should fix your problem..
 

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
12 Apr 2002
Messages
134
pc won't boot at all. I just hear fans whirring.. no beeps or anything.
 

GoNz0

NTFS Stoner
Joined
4 Mar 2002
Messages
2,781
send it back, if it crapped out halfway through the upgrade, your screwed. worst luck, i though asus had a utility for those mobo's to flash the bios from windows, my a7v8x does.
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
Odds are the Bios is trashed. Slim chance a CMOS reset might bring it back to a bootable state but unlikely.

Most likely it's RMA time to ASUS to see if they can reload the bios.

You have to unzip the bootable floppy files to your hard disk then run the setup file that is in the unzipped files. It will create a floppy for you.
 

Howling Wolf

We did not deserve this !
Joined
11 Dec 2001
Messages
1,243
GoNz0 said:
[...] i though asus had a utility for those mobo's to flash the bios from windows, my a7v8x does.

Yes, it's AsusUpdate, I always flash my mobo (A7v600) from Windows and did the same for my previous mobos (A7v333, and maybe also P3v4x before, but not sure for that one (maybe I used a floppy then...)).
 

segamil

OSNN Addict
Joined
12 Apr 2002
Messages
134
Thanks for the advice all.. I sent the mobo back for a replacement - will rebuild it again this weekend.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,275
I would always suggest making sure you know 100% what your doing before you try to flash anything .. especially something as important to your system as your bios.
 

Members online

Latest profile posts

Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?

Forum statistics

Threads
62,004
Messages
673,460
Members
5,600
Latest member
nalmethris5