Far Cry problem

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
1,551
#1
I've just bought the game but have a problem.

If i set the settings above 'medium' the game loads (bar along bottom of screen) but instead of going in to the actual playable part of it the screen just goes blue (not a bsod) and i have to reset the PC.

Bad!

Im using Asus 9800xt and the latest catalyst (have tried latest omegas too..same problem).

Any suggestions?
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,627
#2
Although highly nvidia-orientated, have you tried installing the far cry patch?

Having said that, using the bog standard, cheap and nasty 9800Pro and it worked before and after the patch

http://www.3dgamers.com/news/more/1080337583/

I also have everything maxxed out, just stopped playing for a bit cos those big dudes have rocket launchers and it scares me.
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#3
thats the first I have heard of this problem...

try out the patch EP suggested... might help though it really is designed for nv's dx9 cards...

what res are you playing @ and do you have any AA/AF turned on either in the game menu or in your ati control panel ?
 

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
1,551
#5
playing at 1600x1200...but i think i've sorted the problem out now. Looks like it was to do with the AA..turned it off and i can now set all the other settins to max (or close to!).

Thanks both for the ideas...the patch was already installed.
 

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
1,551
#6
Edit that..the problem is still there. Just completed the first level (with the ship) and it was loading the second level fine..then bam!..blue screen. :(

Any ideas?
 

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
Jul 5, 2002
Messages
1,551
#7
FYI...problems solved!

How? By setting my desktop resolution to the same as the game and, probably more importantly, turning off the VU Recovery on the ATI Control Panel.

That combo worked for me anyway :)
 

napalmnthemorning

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Messages
721
#8
I've applied the patch and running medium graphics settings with the NVIDIA StarStorm 56.72 X driver/nvidia 5200-128/1gb memory. Graphics are great until I'm shooting or I'm in the bushes, thats when I get all kinds of colored lines. I have no problems running RS-3, SC, Max Payne 2 or COD. ?
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#9
still a weird bug...

oh well... if its working... thats good :)
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2004
Messages
1,124
#10
Electronic Punk said:
I also have everything maxxed out, just stopped playing for a bit cos those big dudes have rocket launchers and it scares me.

Aim for the head, 2 sniper rifle shots takes em down, dont be scared
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
62,000
Messages
673,421
Members
89,024
Latest member
swipk8