Dual boot partition problem

Adamas

OSNN Junior Addict
Guys, I have a AMD 64bit running xp64, 2 x 120gig drives set up in raid0. I originally has the drives partitioned into 3, 1st partition 30g holding my OS, 2nd had all programs & 3rd all my own data. I then decided to mess things up by doing a dual boot with linux.

Firstly I tried PartitionMagic 8 hoping to do a non-destructive partition, did not go down well with xp64, so tried Knoppix partition software, sorry the name of the program has slipped my mind, any way it was ment to do a non destructive partition on NTFS. It could not resize one of my partitions claiming that there were errors on it. No problem, time to back up and start from scratch. I really have two questions that I need help on. Please bear in mind that I have little experience in raid so might be asking a stupid question!

1) After trying to delete the partitions with fdisk, I could only see the first 30gig partition holding my os, I could not delete all partitions to then re-partition the drive into 4, how can I do this? (The 4th is to hold linux)

2) Now that I no longer have an OS on the PC, I thought I had better format the 30gig partition to re-install xp, it is going sooooooooooo slow, I am at 23% of the format on a 30gig partition after 5 hours, should only take 20min or so! Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help.

use partition magic, or a program similar too it that might be free.