"Dual boot Mac OS X86 and Win XP" Does this work?

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,818
I was bored like i normally am ( just had my appendix removed) and i found this site saying you can dual boot xp and os x86...is this for real? Its not like i skinned xp or anything...
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,818
Yea i know its illegal, and i did find that site and joined, i have many questions. So, how does it run..smooth like a mac, or kinda slow? Can you run ANY mac program on it?? And ill leave it at that!!!!!!!
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
Sorry FBD, for reasons already stated we shouldn't really discuss it here.
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
15,800
He's not asking how to obtain pirated software, just what works and what doesn't...
 

GEN3RIC

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Apr 4, 2005
Messages
634
I've done it - all I can say is that there will be NO driver support and a max of something like 1024x768 due to no display drivers. Nothing really works..

I will also mention that you will be very upset if you don't remember to back up your MBR - it can get sticky and ruin your XP partition.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
Yeah and btw I re-opened the thread :p

Sorry FBD :D
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
I've done it - all I can say is that there will be NO driver support and a max of something like 1024x768 due to no display drivers. Nothing really works..

I will also mention that you will be very upset if you don't remember to back up your MBR - it can get sticky and ruin your XP partition.
I think you just had a bad experience. :)

With the right hardware and drivers/patches, you can have everything working, including complete Quartz Extreme and Core Image support, and display resolutions of well over 1024x768. You can also dual-boot quite easily using the XP/Vista bootloader at startup.

To answer your questions, FBD, it runs at native speeds since its now built for the x86 architecture after all. And yes, you can run any Mac application on it, although you'll ideally want a CPU with SSE3 to run everything well, including PPC binaries through Rosetta.
 

failurbydesign

music MUSIC music
Political User
Joined
Apr 21, 2004
Messages
1,818
Thanks KC, i was doin a lot of reading, does seem kinda risky not knowing if what you got will work, plus i havent used OS X since high school and wouldnt even know how to install drivers, programs, and setup my network!!!
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,974
Messages
673,294
Members
89,041
Latest member
BarbraNCotton