Do you really need a floppy drive?...

Joined
16 Jan 2004
Messages
115
Hi...Just curious...is it safe to disable the floppy drive?...I really no longer have any need for a floppy drive and after all it shaves a second or two off boot-up and shutdown times.

I am using Windows XP.

Thanks from Colin. :)
 

Henyman

Secret Goat Fetish
Political Access
Joined
9 Jun 2002
Messages
9,606
no need at all, i dont even have one on my laptop :p
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
2 Dec 2001
Messages
18,678
The only real reason I see for a floppy drive is for updating bioses and if you don't intend to backup your current bios you don't even need that these days! (bootable cds!)
 
L

Lee

Guest
I use a boot disk (cd). My floppy part of the motherboard is cream crackered so don't work no more anyway.

I have a zip 100 drive external. I last used a floppy 13 months ago. I heard they are going to be phased out.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
No need for floppies. Most laptops and quite a number of desktops are now sold without them. However you use your machine is up to you as an individual. I think I will be keeping a functional floppy in mine for another 2yrs or so, just in case I need to boot from floppy into DOS (win98).
 

Unleashed

We Speak Geek
Joined
26 Jul 2003
Messages
1,248
Dont have a floppy in my machine, havent in ages - just dont need them anymore.
For flashing my BIOS I have an MSI board so I can just do it within Windows :)
 
P

PseudoKiller

Guest
Laptop doesnt have one... made it tough when I wanted to install slackware linux
 

toretto

Mentally Absent
Joined
8 Feb 2004
Messages
226
I need it for installing my raid array during the windows setup, that is about it. then it remains dormant till my next overhaul.
 
Joined
16 Jan 2004
Messages
115
Thanks for all your replies guys...really appreciated :)

I have'nt actually physically removed it...I have just disabled it in the bios and removed it from the boot sequence...(I need it for my two sata's drivers)...Hopefully even this function will become redundant when Longhorn comes out as I suspect it will include promise drivers.

Thanks for all your help...Colin
 

patrick

OSNN Addict
Joined
15 Jan 2002
Messages
141
Another time you might need it is getting (small amounts) of data, like a document quickly to another computer. Most other computers have floppies so it just makes it a bit more convenient. USB drives will generally do the trick, provided it's not something stupid like Windows 95.
And it's also just as annoying when someone gives you something on a floppy. And it seems to be no excuse complaining that floppies are old and outdated, the person just laughes at you.

Don't worry floppies will die soon enough, I still haven't got one in my new system but I will probably put one there eventually. We can finally give them up only as soon as companies stop packaging them to the less experienced users.

Disabling it is fine. You can always enable it again.

Patrick
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
31 Mar 2002
Messages
15,804
Don't even have one in my machine. Haven't used a 3.25 in years, evil slow buggers! :D
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
19 Apr 2002
Messages
13,256
What SPeedY said ^^

Electronic Punk said:
The only real reason I see for a floppy drive is for updating bioses and if you don't intend to backup your current bios you don't even need that these days! (bootable cds!)
Recently, manufacturers have been releasing BIOS flash software that works through Windows itself. Dell has been releasing all their FlashBIOS upgrades for my laptop this way. It's beautiful.


PseudoKiller said:
Laptop doesnt have one... made it tough when I wanted to install slackware linux
Hmm...what was the problem? The Slackware CD is bootable.
 

RazerBack

The First Rebirth
Joined
23 Jan 2003
Messages
159
Only for installing the Promise Raid drivers when installing WinXP and BIOS upgrade.
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
14 Apr 2003
Messages
485
i upgraded my BIOS yesterday with a bootable DOS CD :D

fortunately i don't need RAID drivers to install XP...yet.
 

Reg

eXperienced!
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
639
None of my machines have floppies. I use bootable CD's for most of my upgrading needs. I also have a boot-capable USB flash drive.
 

patrick

OSNN Addict
Joined
15 Jan 2002
Messages
141
Right now, with slight regret, I am transferring several megs from a friends very old computer, one meg at a time using a floppy disk.
Network card? I don't think so.
PCI? I doubt it, it's probably ISA but then you'd have to find drivers for windows 95...
USB Network? Nope there's no USB port
I was even tempted to try using a direct serial connection but of course I'd then have to do it with no mouse since the mouse uses the only serial port.

I'm taking a full floppy off it each time and taking it to the computer in the next room. I can't simply stick it in my computer next to me, my nice new system, since it doesn't have a floppy drive yet. And to top it all off I cut my thumb again on my darn CPU fan so I'm doing all this with one hand. Oh the joys of computing lol

Patrick
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,398
Members
5,586
Latest member
PseudoKiller