Do I Have Enough For A WiFi Network?

MathDocPhil

OSNN One Post Wonder
I'm a networking newbie without enough smarts (yet?) to ask the right detailed question about Subnets, etc.. But I hope a patient expert will answer my general question on whether my current setup is adequate for what I'd like to do. I have a Dell 8200 desktop running XP Pro, an SBC DSL modem and a Dell 2300 wireless router (Ethernet wired to the desktops NIC card). I also have a Dell 1100 laptop (XP Home) with a wi-fi card and the shared Internet connection is fine.

I want to create a wireless network that at least supports file & folder sharing between them. Will I need some additional hardware like a hub or is the router enough. I have made several failed tries with the XP network wizard; I made some folders on the desktop shared; and I set up some parms in the right direction: have a common workgroup name on both machines.

Thanks in advance for any general advice.

yes you have all you need to make the laptop wireless..

Your probably not connecting with your laptop because you need to connect to your router with the main computer and access the admin features of the router.. In here you will look for "Wireless" or "WEP" Turn this feature on and reboot the router.

to share files run the network wizard on both computers and make sure they are on the same workgroup.

The router wireless security and the laptop wifi card must both be set to the same security level. Just to get started set them for no security. Then once the netwiork is up and running (the laptop will tell you it is connected) you can put the level of transfer encryption in you want. The wizard will walk youi through the security process.

And here's the MS Help page for setting the workgroup:

To join a workgroup