Direct3D games restarting Windows XP

N

Nash

Guest
I'm having a problem with Direct3D here. Any Direct3D game that I run restarts my computer in less than a minute after I start them. I've tried a clean install of XP and a newer driver for my video card. A blue screen appeared once with this:

*** STOP: 0x0000008E (0xc0000005, 0xBFA0EAD8, 0xF5ED4A30, 0x00000000)

*** nv4_disp.dll - ADDRESS BFA0EAD8 base at BF9B8000, DateStamp 3d3478e4

My system:
AMD Duron 700 Mhz
Soyo K7VTA-PRO
256 SDRAM Memory
V7100(T) GeForce 2 MX 400 (TV-Out) video card

If someone have any ideia of what is happening here please reply. Thanks.
 

Glaanieboy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
2,628
Unistall your current driver, let windows restart and let it install the standard nVidia drivers. Secondly install the newer (non-BETA) driver.
Hope this helps.
 
N

Nash

Guest
I've tried three diferent drivers: the current one, one before the current and the newest beta, same problem. I've done what Glaanieboy said too, no solution.

Sometimes my computer locks, sometimes it boots and sometimes it goes back to Windows. I've installed the SP1 update for XP, but the same thing happens.
 

Glaanieboy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
2,628
Hmm... Are you using the DirectX 9 beta drivers?. If so revert back to 8.1 and try it again. If you are using DirectX 8.1 then do this:
Press 'Start' -> 'Run' type in the box 'dxdiag' and press Enter. Go to the Display tab and click 'Test Direct3D'. If that doesn't work too, then I am afraid it might be a hardware issue.
 

Hipster Doofus

Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
5,920
You could also try turning off the auto start. Right click my computer/properties/advanced/startup & recovery. Turn off auto restart. Now you should get an error message before it reboots.
 

Zedric

NTFS Guru
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Messages
4,006
I know. Disable "AGP Fast Writes" in BIOS. Known GF2MX bug.
 
N

Nash

Guest
I'm using the DirectX 8.1 that comes with XP, I've already installed the update for it to 8.1b. The test for the Direct3D runs fine, and there's nothing wrong in the DirectX Files tab too.

I've turned off the auto-start too, that's how I could see the error message.

My BIOS do not have the "AGP fast writes" option, the only AGP options that's in it are:

AGP Aperture Size : 64M
AGP - 4X Mode : Enabled
AGP Driving Control : Auto
AGP Master 1 WS Write : Disabled
AGP Master 1 WS Read : Disabled
 
N

Nash

Guest
I don't think that maybe it could be a heat problem, my CPU is at 40°C.
 
J

jonocainuk

Guest
also do you use an ata100 controller card for your harddrive?

I kept getting lockups on my pc with a similar STOP code (because it mentions the graphics driver im probably completely wrong... but it mentioned "try different graphics drivers" when I got the BSOD - was also using SP1 on XP. I've since ripped the ata100 card out (too problematic imo) and its runnin fine now)

also... can u set the aperture rate a bit higher? say to 128?
 

Zedric

NTFS Guru
Joined
Jan 12, 2002
Messages
4,006
Originally posted by Nash
My BIOS do not have the "AGP fast writes" option, the only AGP options that's in it are:

AGP Aperture Size : 64M
AGP - 4X Mode : Enabled
AGP Driving Control : Auto
AGP Master 1 WS Write : Disabled
AGP Master 1 WS Read : Disabled
Uh oh. I hope this doesn't mean that it's always on... The symptoms are exactly right for it. Does it say anything about "Infinate loop" for the driver?
 
N

Nash

Guest
jonocainuk:

I don't have a ATA100 controller and I've tried to set the aperture size to 128, same thing happens.

Zedric:

There's nothing about infinite loops in the error messages.


The strange is that I've already played many Direct3D games here without problems with the same system configuration. I think that the problem has begun when I've put a cable modem here, but it is connected to a NIC that was already working here before when I played the games, so I don't think that it is the problem.
 
J

jonocainuk

Guest
if it happened since u got a cable modem, could it be possible that the connection rates on your games need changing? you might be flooding the games with packets or something causing it to crash?
 
B

bossdodgers

Guest
Hi,

I had exactly the same problem and the culprit is our good friend SP1 im afraid.
I tried everything that has been suggested on this post and the only way i got it working in the end was by using the nvidia 40.72 drivers and applied the control panel fix.

These drivers are still not yet signed though but it worked for me.

When you install the SP1 you are supposed to uninstall all third party hardware and drivers and norton anti-virus before doing the update as problems may occur afterwards.

I still wasnt happy with SP1 so i decided to do a re-install of xp and guess what, it still doesnt get rid of SP1 as some of the files remain and i spoke to microsoft and they confirmed everything that i am saying in this post.

The only way to get rid of it totally is to re-format. The uninstall option you get when you download does not get rid of all the SP1 files and microsoft will be hopefully bringing out some bug fixes soon.

Anyway try the 40.72 and dont forget the fix.It worked for me.
 
B

bossdodgers

Guest
Here it is.

Run it and follow the instructions exactly as they are from top to bottom.

It removes the conflicting files that prevent the control panel working.

And dont worry if you have already installed the drivers as it worked both ways for me.

Dont worry about the fix being for 40.71 because it works for the 40.72 aswell.

If you encounter any problems let me know
 
N

Nash

Guest
bossdodgers:
I've tried the driver and the fix but the problem still happens. I've tried three times, two of them with a memory address error and one with a blue screen asking me to reboot with the following message:

IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

I've got a utility to test Direct3D and it crashes the machine too.
 
J

jonocainuk

Guest
try rebuilding the pc again... taking cables, cards and ram out the system... put them all back in and reinstall... that seems the last resort :/

alternatively, move ur cards to another slot... i.e. NIC to a diff pci slot.
 

djmorgan

OSNN Addict
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
106
This type of issue has been discussed at the Nforce MSI forum for some time now, it's been blamed upon the board and recent released drivers.

However, those that experience this problem should straight after the crash activate XP's event viewer and check 'system' I think you'll find that you get a least 2 event messages and then at least 2 'Redbook' notices.

With some of the K7N bios's these redbook advices have resulted in the monitor screen going black but everything working as though the computer was fine - just not working.

An issue was reported some time ago where XP was doing it's job and verifying that all drivers were certified and making a report on those drivers that aren't certified, this was causing some nVidia vid drivers to lock up, there is no way to turn this function off in XP but it is known to cause crashes and other weird behavior.

WHQ drivers seem the only way to prevent it - hope that helps somebody track down the error.

:rolleyes:
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did :(
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy? :(
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl

Forum statistics

Threads
61,980
Messages
673,294
Members
89,078
Latest member
JulianTic