Dial up modem and Vista x64

brocher

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
516
My friend has just bought a new pc and Vista x64 premium. At the moment he doesn't have broadband in his area until another couple of months. He has a Ambient MD5628D-L-C 56k modem(FM56PCI-AMB). Does anyone have a driver for this set up or does he just have to wait for broadband. On the other hand i have an old linksys router (BEFDSR41W), would this work with his dial up settings as he could connect it via cable which wouldn't require drivers????

Any help on this would be great....
 

madmatt

Bow Down to the King
Political User
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Messages
13,312
Assuming the modem is older (I have never heard of the manufacturer) and there aren't any updated drivers on the manufacturer's web site then I would suggest purchasing a new modem with known Vista drivers.
 

sean.ferguson

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Jul 4, 2003
Messages
1,693
Has he tried installing his Windows XP drivers? These may work okay for the time being (not really recommended).
 

brocher

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
516
The ambient chip has been bought over by Intel, i have tried all the drivers including 98se/ME/XP/NT/2000. Just says not compatible with the x64 version.
 

kcnychief

█▄█ ▀█▄ █
Political User
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
16,948
x64 Drivers for Vista are scarce at the moment - if you want to keep with what you have you are probably best off trying the 32 bit version of Vista
 

ray_gillespie

Moderator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Mar 21, 2002
Messages
1,693
Depending on what he wants to download he may be quicker just to wait for broadband!

Seriously though, I don't think the x64 editions of Vista will allow any non-WHQL drivers to be installed, so you may not have much of an option other than to buy a new vista x64 compatible modem or just wait for broadband. Is it an OEM edition? If not, it would be cheaper just to install the x86 version and use his existing modem until he can get broadband.

I don't think you could use that router with a dial-up modem. You could perhaps use another computer and set up ICS, but that's a lot of hassle. (And crap).
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,974
Messages
673,294
Members
89,042
Latest member
Pancake