Defragmenting

Kush

High On Life!
well i have read some stuff that says u dont need to do it, and well theres program that do it so im confused. i dont care about losing some time i wanna have the macs in school running as fast as they can, as perfect disk is the best one for windows, which is the best for mac? i found this one Click here(also read what apple said about it)

In my humble opinion, if you're using Mac OS 10 (which ever version), you don't need to use a 3rd party defragmentation program.

I've never used one and I've been using Mac OS 10 for about 2 years now because of.....

"....Mac OS X 10.2 and later includes delayed allocation for Mac OS X Extended-formatted volumes. This allows a number of small allocations to be combined into a single large allocation in one area of the disk........Mac OS X 10.3 Panther can also automatically defragment such slow-growing files. This process is sometimes known as "Hot-File-Adaptive-Clustering......." (sourced from the that link to versiontracker).

I really just dont see the point and, this is after using G5s at college with digitised raw media which = massive files (as well as not so massive files), as well as my Macs at home. :)

So...to conclude my rather lengthy post...

I don't see the point in using 3rd party defrag tools, unless you really want too, and trust them not to screw up.

Toodles

will it make the computer run a bit faster though?

edit: i mean get any performance boost, i want the computers to be running their fastest, maybe these 3rd party ones ar better than teh built in one thats what im saying?

Doubt it. Mac's defrag on the fly, if a file is under 20 MB it is defragged each time it is accessed, if it is bigger, it is defraged randomly on boot.

There is no way to speed up a mac by defragging it. It just aint windows.