CPU Cooling Software is it a Myth??

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#1
Hi
I have seen some software such as cpuidle that claims to reduce your cpu temperature at idle upto 10 deg C is this true and has anybody had experiance running this program or simular ones.
(The software must be compatible with XP Pro SP1, Athlon XP and Nforce 2 Ultra)

Cheers :)
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#2
not sure...

my cooling is hardware incorporated (cool n quiet) and adjusts everything per performance requirements/heat output... so it adjusts constantly...

if you want to run cool... keep your fan's rpm's @ max...
 

mnfesq

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
14
#3
I use a program called VCool. It is only for Athlon cpu's. It works with Via and Nforce2 chipsets. It is GREAT!!! It cools my cpu (Athlon 2600) from about 42C to about 32C on a KT400 board and from about 52C to about 38C on a KT600 board. I do a lot of video encoding which really heats up my cpu. VCool makes a really big difference in cpu temp even when the computer is not idle because it shuts down the south bridge (i think) when it is not in use even though the other bridge is in use. It seems to work better than any other cpu cooler I have tried.
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#4
-Sazar so is mine i have Q-Fan technology on this

-mnfesq cheers i shall give it a looksee
 

Sazar

F@H - Is it in you?
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Messages
14,905
#6
indyjones said:
-Sazar so is mine i have Q-Fan technology on this
cool n quiet is different from any other tech for cpu's :)

it automatically regulates clock speed as well :cool:

only thing I can say is keep fans @ max... zalman makes a cheap fan controller... use it to perhaps daisy chain your fans and control the speed with that device... and move the knob to max...
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
#7
i use CPUIdle...

and it does do what it claims to do. my normal CPU Temp idle is about 42 C, and with CPUIdle it's around 29 C
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#8
cpugeniusmv i tried it but did not really get anywhere...
Any hints and tips to get the best out of it? what version do you use as well??
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
#10
indyjones said:
cpugeniusmv i tried it but did not really get anywhere...
Any hints and tips to get the best out of it? what version do you use as well??
version: CpuIdle Extreme
cpu: Athlon XP 2400+

and here's a screen shot of my options.
 

Attachments

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#11
cpugeniusmv ahh what cpu do you set it to do you use motherboard monitor and set it to your cpu die temperature?? Also I set mine to C2 cooling and it came up with a message saying not recommended I have an Nforce2 Ultra board....
 

cpugeniusmv

Computer Genius
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Messages
485
#12
when selecting C2, you will always get that message on any board...but i've been doing it for quite a while and haven't had any problems.

you may encounter audio problems if you use the onboard sound, in which case just select "Fix Audio"

as for setting the die temperature and setting the CPU...the options in the picture are the only options presented to me.

i don't use mbm5
 

Dubbin1

I Like Cheese
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Messages
744
#13
dreamliner77 said:
Anyone know what the idle temp for a P3 933 is supposed to be?
Thats all going to depend on the type of case, HS and fans that you have. Also the room temp will make a differance.
 

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#14
Once again thanks cpugeniusmv i shal give it another go this time without mbm5 and report back what i get cheers :)
 

mnfesq

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
14
#15
indyjones said:
Tried Vcool and it does not work :(
Anyothers????
In order for VCool to work on most computers, you need to enable the idle loop and set the cool bit. Here is a screenshot of my settings. Note the temps and fan speeds in the on-screen display. I consider that a pretty cool operating temp.

Good luck.

 

Attachments

indyjones

OSNN.net Adventurer
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
1,567
#16
i installed vcool and it jst came up with a message saying that it did not support my chipset as in 1.8b and the 2.0a did not do anything.....
 

dreamliner77

The Analog Kid
Joined
Mar 16, 2002
Messages
4,708
#17
Dubbin1 said:
Thats all going to depend on the type of case, HS and fans that you have. Also the room temp will make a differance.
A range maybe? I know the actual temp will depend on all of these things. Just wondering what the general recommended operating range is? I'm running around 54c
 

mnfesq

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
14
#18
indyjones said:
i installed vcool and it jst came up with a message saying that it did not support my chipset as in 1.8b and the 2.0a did not do anything.....
It's possible that VCool will not support your chipset under any circumstances, which would be truly unfortunate. However, version 2.0a is pretty effective on mobos not supported by 1.8b. You need to experiment with setting either the cool bit or halt detect to see which gives you cooling effect. On my KT600 board, the cool bit did nothing, but the halt detect worked very well. The downside to version 2.0a, and the reason i switched back to a KT400 board is that you need to manually reset all of your options and mini-windows (on-screen displays) every time you reboot. It was still better than not having any good cooling option.
 

Dadx2mj

Happy Camper
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
29
#19
Problem with these cooling programs is that they only cool the CPU when it is idle. They do nothing for load temps. This causes more expansion and contraction when the CPU gets a load placed on it and then is cooled off again. I have read several times that this expansion is more detrimental to the life of the CPU than the temp itself. After all how important is idle temp? What you really should be concerned with is the load temp and unfortunately these programs do nothing for them.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,030
Messages
673,544
Members
89,038
Latest member
Samhicks