Computer Eating PSUs?

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political Access
Joined
3 Dec 2001
Messages
1,207
My computer seems to be eating PSUs. I got the computer, and the orginal stock PSU Died. I replaced it (a 90w) with a 180w, and after a couple hours of running the second PSU died. THe compuer would not power up, and the power LED turned Amber instead of Green when i pressed the power button. Nothing else powered up. Plugging in a 3rd spare powersupply started it normally again. Is it possible for a computer to constantly blow PSUs? How can this be prevented?

Thanks
 
C

[CpK]Bastid

Guest
maybe use a higher wattage and make sure it aint grounding out anywhere
 
P

Plexapotamus

Guest
yep, definatly check for any grounding.

And are you using this 180W PSU with the system in your sig?
cause you should really be using at least a 300W for that system.
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
13 Jan 2002
Messages
4,590
of couse u have to get a bigger one! no way can a 90 or 180w handle ur NEW SUPER COMPUTER :blink:. anyways yeah seriously who gave u a computer with that specs and a gerble to run on a wheel to power it!:p
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
I have to agree for that rig you need a good 300 watt psu at least .... ;)
 

Kush

High On Life!
Joined
13 Jan 2002
Messages
4,590
i mean just to tell u something, mine computer is a bit better than urs and it was eating 300w power supplies! but after a day not right when i turn it on. 250w turned off right when i put my finger on the power button!:p
 

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political Access
Joined
3 Dec 2001
Messages
1,207
No, the computer eating PSUs is a Gateway GP6-633, running an Intel Celeron 633MHz, 7.5GB Hard Drive, CD-ROM, and Floppy in a micro-atx formfactor.

JJB
 
V

Vibe69

Guest
yea my PSU is making this moranic sounds it needs replacement
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
Originally posted by Vibe69
yea my PSU is making this moranic sounds it needs replacement
or just replace the fan...?

jjb... i would bet that the 90w psu wasn't enough for the system, but the 180w should be fine. so maybe the 180w was just a bad one. try one more time with another 150w+ psu and if it goes bad, then it's gotta be something in your system.
 
P

Plexapotamus

Guest
Yep, I would also say that for that set up a 150w would be fine. my old HP celeron 500mhz used to run on a power supply of 120W (with 2 HDs, 1 optical drive, and 1 PCI sound card.)
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,999
Messages
673,424
Members
5,593
Latest member
moussa021