change a partition size?

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#1
Is there a way i can change the partition size on my main windows drive? so i don't have to worry about moving folders over again if anything happens to my windows dir? i think it was in mmc but not sure if that does it.
 

mooo

thecyberninja
Joined
Jan 6, 2004
Messages
886
#4
damn i didn't wanna have to pay for software :p but i guess i think i got a copy of like 6 or 5 somewhere around here


wow toretto, we have same bday date, you are just 2years older. july 21 musta been a good day
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#6
mooo make sure to make a backup and defrag your drive 1st just to be safe ;)
 

jactor

OSNN Newbie
Joined
Jan 8, 2005
Messages
5
#8
i used partition magic to partition my drives and it f**** up the partition tables... i used linux (knoppix) as a rescue disc to get a backup for my files because i had by a mistake thrown them away...
now i can't start windows xp (not even in safemode) but knoppix was able to read from the partitions (linux don't have any priveligous too modify an ntfs) and i just want to re-install an operating system (regardless of type) to my hd, but i can't boot up my system because of the wrong-doings in my partitions...
anyone who knows what to do?
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#10
I've used Partition Magic 8.0 on multiple occasions without problems. I wouldn't go so far as to say it sucks. Isolated cases don't say much about the overall quality of a product.
 

Hipster Doofus

Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
5,920
#12
/me wonders why partition magic says something like...."CAUTION - back up all files first."

I've never had a problem with it either altough I do think it is best to get the partition sizes right before putting anything on the drive.

Only thing I use now is the XP cd.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#13
I have always had a problem with Partition magic. It never went so far as to mess things up. Most cases it would not work. I always get these errors saying that it could perform certian things. Whereas PartitionExpert goes straight threw with a hitch.

Some have good experiences, some have bad. I just happen to have bad., Plus I feel symantec purchasing it just pushed it further down the tubes ...

@Hipster - I agree with you on the point of sizing it before you put in the os. But when you get to a situation where you have to resize the partition: PartitionExpert is the best one to use.
 

ShepsCrook

Red Sox Fan!
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
1,489
#15
Start > Run > DISKMGMT.MSC

There ya go. Built in partitioning program.
I know that doesn't help when you can't boot up. But it would probably have been the easier route.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#16
ShepsCrook said:
Start > Run > DISKMGMT.MSC

There ya go. Built in partitioning program.
I know that doesn't help when you can't boot up. But it would probably have been the easier route.
The Windows Disk Management utility does not support non-destructive partitioning. You still need third-party software to do that.
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political User
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
5,015
#17
ShepsCrook said:
Start > Run > DISKMGMT.MSC

There ya go. Built in partitioning program.
I know that doesn't help when you can't boot up. But it would probably have been the easier route.
That is joke .. Not a partitioning utility ...
 

jimi_81

OSNN Senior Addict
Political User
Joined
May 29, 2002
Messages
820
#18
from past experience...
what a nightmare partition magic was.

i wanted to do a resize...
it started, and failed at aorund 20%...blue screen. lost everything.

good luck, i hope the software is better these days
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#20
jactor said:
i used partition magic to partition my drives and it f**** up the partition tables... i used linux (knoppix) as a rescue disc to get a backup for my files because i had by a mistake thrown them away...
now i can't start windows xp (not even in safemode) but knoppix was able to read from the partitions (linux don't have any priveligous too modify an ntfs) and i just want to re-install an operating system (regardless of type) to my hd, but i can't boot up my system because of the wrong-doings in my partitions...
anyone who knows what to do?
Knoppix can read AND right NTFS (though not 100% recommended) but you have to use the 2.6.x keneral [knoppix26 at boot] and change to root before changing permissions on the drive I believe. Also if you havn't gone and formated your HD yet and want to try and get your partition tables back you could try an app called "qpart". Here is a site that mentions use of it and might help you along some hopefully. Look @ paragraph 6 and 7.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,011
Messages
673,481
Members
89,034
Latest member
nasty12