Can't connect to Router

Joined
Jan 10, 2004
Messages
1,829
#1
I cannot connect to my router and I am lost. I just removed zone alarm I thought that could be a problem. I have no idea....

Netgear FR114w

Any help would be appericated.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#4
well that tells you something.:)

Check hardware to make sure your physically connected, and if you know you are, try resetting the router.
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#8
well that means its not working ;)

I assume that you have it set up as a gateway, so it is physically there and should be pingable.
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#9
well if all fails you could probably just reset it (if you remember all your settings) ... could also try just unplugging it and waiting a few secs and plugging it back in (kinda like a nice reboot).
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#11
sounds like you are not going through the router at all. did we mix up the cables from the BB modem?
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#14
j79zlr said:
even if in the DMZ you would have a LAN IP
true dat ... my bad .. yeah he would have to have router set to no external admin and must have messed up cables bypassing the router?
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#16
what is the external ip you are getting?
is it 63.x.x.x sutin like that
i had that issue in another post
it was windows default IP for DHCP
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
Sep 29, 2003
Messages
5,275
#17
Did you configure DHCP corretly w/ a range of internal ips to hand out? If not it may be like celticfan11 said ...
 

celticfan11

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
744
#18
you configure DHCP in the router....
give the lan ips a range from 192.168.0.X x is the range of numbers u can change

i had this issue and i couldnt connect to anything andi got a random IP from nowhere which was the windows dhcp ip
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#19
celticfan the IP you are talking about is 169.254.x.x and that is assigned when windows cannot find the DHCP server.

I think his issue is different.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,021
Latest member
Mariaomero