Cant clean Instal On MEDION Pre-Built PC!!!!??

K

-kReV-

Hi.. I just been trying too do a clean instal of a freinds PC... (i am not experienced with Pre-built pc's at all)
Its a MEDION pentium 2ghz, 80gb HD, 256mb ram, Geforce Mx440, sblive 5.1...

now i dont understand at all whats going on here, i am used to building Pc's from scratch, and doing clean instals is no problem, but this machine is weird, seems there is some lock on it..
I Formatted the disk, Tryed booting XP from cd, it got too the select a drive, then reformatted (quick NTFS) then when it starts copying files over it crashes (BSOD)and gives the error -
Setupdd.sys
address f99d4off base at f999f000 datestamp 3b7d8507

I tried this with the disk that came with the machine (XP Home) and my copy of XP-pro Corporate, when i tried with my copy, it said that the .sif file didnt match, and couldnt continue too setup.. so couldnt even get too the Format screen with that cd

Thanks for any help, this things got me stumped
Hope someone out there knows whats up:) thx.... kReV

full format, clear cmos, check bios, or take out hdd put it in another computer and install windows from there then put it back into his computer or i dunno

already done full format (low level aswel)
Bios has been cleared, was thinkin bout installing on other pc, but i would have thought XP will go nutz when the hd is moved too another PC??

Worth a try though, thanks

I gonna take a wild guess and wonder if there isn't a hidden partiton with a back up image of his hard drive on there somewhere.

there was an 8mb partition on there... and the rest was 76gb.. now low level formatted..

Now when installing it doesnt even get too the Formatting Screen, it blue screens before that..

I'm thinkin the ram could be bad?

any good ram test apps?

well seeing as you couldn't run the ram test on that box anyway, could you throw it in another box and see what happens?

just curious....How do you do a low-level format?