[Browser Related] Tooltip New line Bug

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political User
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Messages
10,574
Bug?

Noticed that when someone has used "Enter" to insert a break in a post, there this weird character that shows up. Look at the attachment to see what I'm talking about.
 

Attachments

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
15,800
What browser?

(edit) I get the same in Firebird, but not in IE and Safari.
 

Khayman

I'm sorry Hal...
Political User
Joined
Jan 6, 2002
Messages
5,518
I noticed that ages ago, just didn't think any aything of it! d'oh!

Note to self, pay more attention :)
 

Glaanieboy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 6, 2002
Messages
2,626
The bbCodes are showed as raw code too, so instead of:
bold text
you get
[.b]bold text[./b] (Don't mind the ".")

About that strange character for return characters (line break), I don't think it's possible to put a line break in a pop-up balloon. Maybe the next release of Vb can help resolve this issue, by picking out only the first line, for example. Maybe even an option to turn that annoying thing off (I hate hover/popup thingies! :mad: ).
 

Grandmaster

Electronica Addict
Political User
Joined
Feb 3, 2002
Messages
10,574
They are useful I think, instead of waiting for a thread to loadup you can see what the first post is about. But I guess an option where a user can decide to to turn it off is a good idea.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
I think it's a neat little feature, actually. Pity it had to be buggy.
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
15,800
It's a Firebird problem I think.

title="monkey
newline"

will render with a new line in most browsers, but as one line with a ****ed up character in the middle on firebird, I've seen it on other sites too.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,626
(could you please recheck this error and see if it is still present)
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
15,800
Same in Firebird too. I honestly don't think that it's a problem that can be solved by the vB team. Check the second attachment. A test page that I just made. shows the same problem..

(edit) third pic attached to show it renders fine in other browsers.
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,626
Well, the vb team may be using code that can strip tags, so they may be able to replace the tag with a more acceptable one.
 

SPeedY_B

I may actually be insane.
Joined
Mar 31, 2002
Messages
15,800
Yeah, Gecko is the rendering engine name. Used in Firebird, mozilla, Netscape, Epiphany, Camino.. etc, etc. :)
 

Electronic Punk

willalwaysbewithyou
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Messages
18,626
Did Firefox fix this?
I have it at home, well the install file, and have'nt checked yet.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
61,976
Messages
673,272
Members
89,047
Latest member
hargadetocline