Broken Icons?

vern

Dominus
Political Access
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
1,572
The shortcut icons on my desktop seem to have a no icon icon on top of them with the intended icon in the back. Anyone know what is up with this and how I can fix it?
 

Attachments

  • icon.jpg
    icon.jpg
    2.4 KB · Views: 224

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
delete IconCache.db reboot pc - although just deleting it should be ok best to reboot

C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Local Settings\Application Data - xp
C:\Users\username\AppData\Local - vista
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
did you use a icon changer program lately?
 

vern

Dominus
Political Access
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
1,572
I haven't changed any icon changers. I will try the suggestions when I get home to my desktop.

Much thanks! Rep should really be brought back so I can rep everyone. :(
 

Johnny

.. Commodore ..
Political Access
Joined
12 Jan 2004
Messages
5,015
^^ I don't want reps back. There is no need for them.
 

vern

Dominus
Political Access
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
1,572
It isn't one program, it is all program icons and only on the desktop.
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
right click on them, properties, change icon, navigate to where the programs are select the exe and add the icon back.

Pain in the ass i know, but should work
 

vern

Dominus
Political Access
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
1,572
right click on them, properties, change icon, navigate to where the programs are select the exe and add the icon back.

Pain in the ass i know, but should work

Doesn't work. As you can see from the screenshot of the icon, the program icon is actually there ... just hidden behind an unknown filetype icon.
 

bush dogg

OSNN Senior Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2004
Messages
433
I don’t know what could have caused that but they should be just shortcuts to the program, if you click on one will the program open that is supposed to?

Also because one is on top of another one I wonder if you could drag the top shortcut to the recycle bin and the bottom one “original” would stay put?

What happens if you right click and select delete on one…because there are two maybe it will just delete the top one unless there tied together somehow.
 

vern

Dominus
Political Access
Joined
2 Mar 2002
Messages
1,572
The shortcut works as it is supposed to and it is actually just one icon ... just with a missing icon icon overlayed over the intended icon. Very dumb bug or whatever this is.
 

micheljaw

OSNN Newbie
Joined
29 Apr 2009
Messages
5
Yes,you do right click on desktop, then properties, change icon, navigate to where the programs are select the exe and add the icon back.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Also Hi EP and people. I found this place again while looking through a oooollllllldddd backup. I have filled over 10TB and was looking at my collection of antiques. Any bids on the 500Mhz Win 95 fix?
Any of the SP crew still out there?
Xie wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Impressed you have kept this alive this long EP! So many sites have come and gone. :(

Just did some crude math and I apparently joined almost 18yrs ago, how is that possible???
hello peeps... is been some time since i last came here.
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.

Forum statistics

Threads
62,013
Messages
673,480
Members
5,608
Latest member
endryshall