I guess Crosshand did an upgrade install of XP, and there you have the option to backup files of the previous operating system. If this is the case and you are sure that you will not go back then you can delete them. Preferably by using the disc-cleanup utility. It will suggest these backup files for removal.
Yes I did an upgrade to XP. I have no intentions of going back, so I will delete them on disk- cleanup. That is where I see it all the time and always wonder why I am keeping it. Thanks for the input and the mind reading as I did not really make myself clear.