Avant Browser Can't Access Windows Update?

Perris Calderon

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
12,356
#2
ya, something they did with ie the skin that my guess deleted or made unsee able a dll the update looks for

just a guess
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
2,732
#3
By any chance, Are you suing Avant's Built-in Proxy setup?

Avant used to give me those errors when I was using the proxy setup.


Heeter
 

Tiesto

OSNN Addict
Joined
Feb 1, 2004
Messages
112
#5
Microsoft is probably picky with how you update Windows, you need to use standalone IE. Try just using standalone IE and see what happens.
 

Perris Calderon

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
12,356
#7
turn off all your pop up stoppers, make sure trhe service is enabled, try turning off the firewall.

stuff like that
 

Dadx2mj

Happy Camper
Joined
Jan 31, 2004
Messages
29
#8
Almost positive that you have to use IE to get to Windows Update. If it is still failing using IE then something else is wrong. Sorry not much help here.
 

Perris Calderon

Administrator
Staff member
Political User
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
12,356
#13
try enabling automatic uodates and see if the computer will do it autromatucally

browse with ie or leave ie running with the service enabled
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political User
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
2,465
#15
yeah I get that far but when it goes to download it slows up and doeesn't download anything
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political User
Joined
Feb 16, 2003
Messages
2,725
#17
You need Cryptographic Services set to Automatic to use Windows Update. Also make sure you clock is set to the correct date and time.
 

Hipster Doofus

Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
5,920
#18
See if this does anything>

Windows Update - Error

If you cannot update XP check your c:\windows\windows update.log. If you have this error: Error 0x800C0008 then go to Tools\internet options\languages. You must have one language selected. Boom windows update works again!

Or for LAN settings

Go to control panel, open up Internet Options\Connections. Click on the Lan Settings button at the bottom right of the window. Untick Automatically detect settings.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political User
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Messages
2,465
#19
got it to work but I had to make it set to automatically download...I'll work on it tomorrow and see what's up
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey ep!

All good with me, applying for microsoft mvp right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by comming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier, mine is perriscalderon at gmail
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...

Forum statistics

Threads
62,030
Messages
673,544
Members
89,039
Latest member
filamnapa