Avant Browser Can't Access Windows Update?

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,365
ya, something they did with ie the skin that my guess deleted or made unsee able a dll the update looks for

just a guess
 

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Joined
8 Jul 2002
Messages
2,732
By any chance, Are you suing Avant's Built-in Proxy setup?

Avant used to give me those errors when I was using the proxy setup.


Heeter
 

Tiesto

OSNN Addict
Joined
1 Feb 2004
Messages
112
Microsoft is probably picky with how you update Windows, you need to use standalone IE. Try just using standalone IE and see what happens.
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,365
turn off all your pop up stoppers, make sure trhe service is enabled, try turning off the firewall.

stuff like that
 

Dadx2mj

Happy Camper
Joined
31 Jan 2004
Messages
29
Almost positive that you have to use IE to get to Windows Update. If it is still failing using IE then something else is wrong. Sorry not much help here.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
failing with me too and I use Avant as well
 

Perris Calderon

dealer
Staff member
Political Access
Joined
24 Jan 2002
Messages
12,365
try enabling automatic uodates and see if the computer will do it autromatucally

browse with ie or leave ie running with the service enabled
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
yeah I get that far but when it goes to download it slows up and doeesn't download anything
 

j79zlr

Glaanies script monkey
Political Access
Joined
16 Feb 2003
Messages
2,725
You need Cryptographic Services set to Automatic to use Windows Update. Also make sure you clock is set to the correct date and time.
 

Hipster Doofus

Good grief Charlie Brown
Joined
12 May 2002
Messages
5,920
See if this does anything>

Windows Update - Error

If you cannot update XP check your c:\windows\windows update.log. If you have this error: Error 0x800C0008 then go to Tools\internet options\languages. You must have one language selected. Boom windows update works again!

Or for LAN settings

Go to control panel, open up Internet Options\Connections. Click on the Lan Settings button at the bottom right of the window. Untick Automatically detect settings.
 

Tuffgong4

The Donger Need Food!!!!
Political Access
Joined
21 Jun 2002
Messages
2,465
got it to work but I had to make it set to automatically download...I'll work on it tomorrow and see what's up
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest forum posts

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,991
Messages
673,353
Members
5,585
Latest member
LucyHennessy

Affiliated sites