Ati Radeon 9700 Pro Settings

luish

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
6 Dec 2001
Messages
429
Hi !

I have a Radeon 9700 PRO card, and I feel I am not getting the FPS i need to get...
In games like Amercias Army I get like 35+- FPS allways on everywhere as ppl with worst vid cards get 60+-.

so, can anyone help me to set the settings of the card the best to have the best image and use the beast that I got ?

ty !
 

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
5 Jul 2002
Messages
1,551
Well, it looks like you got yourself a pretty decent PC there and that net connections looks pretty healthy...

Have you gone in to the advanced settings of Direct3d and OpenGL? Perhaps your AA levels or the like are up to high, that could cause a decreas in FPS.

What res you running that game at?

What drivers are you using?
 

Teddy

Boogie Nights...!
Joined
5 Jul 2002
Messages
1,551
Also...if i remember rightly, wasnt there an issue with the 60hz refresh rate in that particular game? Perhaps someone here can expand on that...?
 

luish

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
6 Dec 2001
Messages
429
I am runing @ 1024*768 and using cat 4.2 what are the settings i need to put @ control panel ATi?
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
Teddy said:
Also...if i remember rightly, wasnt there an issue with the 60hz refresh rate in that particular game? Perhaps someone here can expand on that...?
I'm not sure but if it does max @ 60 he still has like 25 to go :)
 

silis

The bum.
Joined
19 Feb 2004
Messages
63
Americas Army uses a specialized version of the unreal engine. So, the whole 60hz thing is bunk. (From what I understand anyways...) As for only getting 35ish FPS, there are many things that can affect this.

one: video card settings (directX settings more like it... check your Vsync...)
two: CPU speed
three: FSB speed
four: memory timings


you have a hefty video card, so thats prolly not the problem. Your cpu isn't the greatest, so the problem might lie there. What it prolly is, is that your memory sucks. FPS really depend on ONE thing. The ability of the system to transfer large ammounts of data from memory to video card. If you run a 400Mhz FSB, then that would explain why you get 35 fps. (Your memory is also greatly affect by this setting because memory at a 400fsb is only 200Mhz. - compared to a computer with a 800fsb, that memory is at 400Mhz, which is TWICE as fast as yours, soooo... 35 * 2 = 70. TADA!

You kinda have to know more about these systems with 70ish fps...
 

silis

The bum.
Joined
19 Feb 2004
Messages
63
memory quantity doesn't suck... just the speed at which it runs....
 

LeeJend

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Messages
5,291
To answer your question...

Open the ATI control panel, click on the 3D tab. There are two buttons at the top Direct3d and OpenGL for the 2 types of graphics rendering systems. Not sure which one Armericas Army uses so we'll set them both up for better performance.

Click Direct3d, next grab the slider bar next to the buttons and drag it to performance end. Click apply at the bottom.
Now click the OpenGL button and slide it to the performance end. Click Apply again.

Not done yet. Tha above sets some things to be forced to performance but the anti aliasing and anisotropic filtering, which are both big frame rate killers, are still set to Applicaiton Preference which means you have to go into the game video setup and set them as low as they will go.

You should now have good graphics and good frame rates. If that didn't work check back here.
 

luish

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
6 Dec 2001
Messages
429
Leejend, I will try that, ty.

Silis, you maybe right but I am not gonna change right now my hardware, I am quite happy with it now..
 

Xie

- geek -
Joined
29 Sep 2003
Messages
5,274
to override defualt refresh rate for DirectX go to run -> dxdiag -> more help -> "override" .. hit OK and your set :)
 

silis

The bum.
Joined
19 Feb 2004
Messages
63
yup. leejend is right on. I would tend to think that since the graphics options occur ON the video card *more specifically AA and ansio* and checking out benchmarks, shouldn't modest settings on aa and ansio at 1600x1200 pull 30fps? i might be wrong...
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,410
Members
5,588
Latest member
dera