Aol dial up networking

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
I am on Aol broadband and i would like to know if anyone currently knows how to get the dial up networking computers in the system tray, so it tells me how long ive been online and how many bytes been receieved and sent etc, im using windows Xp pro edition

Any help would be appriciated :)
 

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political Access
Joined
3 Dec 2001
Messages
1,207
Sure

Control Panel->Network Connections. Under LAN or High-Speed Internet, find the NIC card connected to the DSL modem. Right click it and select Properties. Check the box "Show Icon In Notfication Area". Click OK and you're done :D

JJB6486
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
the only network connection that is available is AOL dialup and when im on the internet it says disconnected or not connected, so it doesnt come up in the sytem tray as its not connected, any ideas mate?
 
L

Lactic.Acid

Guest
You said you were on AOL broadband. Dialup is not a broadband connection. If your modem connection status isn't coming up, try going through the connection properties and look for a show/hide connection status.
/L.A
 

JJB6486

Retired Mod
Political Access
Joined
3 Dec 2001
Messages
1,207
Do the same thing i told yo above, except for AOL Dialup.

JJB6486
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
on my high speed internet or LAN it connects using my ethernet card, i want it to connect using my alcatel ADSL modem, how do i change it? the only button there is says configure which takes me to configure the Ethernet card, any help peeps? :)
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
here is the ethernet connection i want to change to my ADSL Alcatel modem
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
its a USB modem, do u know how to change it from connecting to the ethernet card, to my USB modem mate?
 
L

Lactic.Acid

Guest
What is the problem. If the modem is USB it is not connecting via ethernet. If it is an ethernet/USB modem combo and it is currently plugged in to your network card, then do the following: 1) unplug the ethernet cable from the modem. 2) plug in the USB cable. 3) run the setup utility. It's as simple as that.

If you have internet service and the modem is connected to your computer via ethernet cable, and your connection is through your network card, you're still connecting through the modem.

Please realize there is a rather large difference in speed and processor utilization between USB and ethernet with a cable-modem, as well. Perhaps you could receive more help if you said why you're trying to do this??
/L.A
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
im on AOL DSL and want the dialup computers in the system tray to show how long ive been online and how many bytes have been sent and recieved etc, on my network places i have high speed internet or LAN which connects via my ethernet card, i want it to connect via my USB alcatel modem but dont know how to do this :( i dont even use my ethernet card so any help would be good :)
 
L

Lactic.Acid

Guest
Okay, maybe it's because I haven't had enough coffee yet but I still have no clue what all you're talking about. The icon is easy, and others have explained how to do this, but here goes anyway:
  1. Right-click My Network Places
  2. Right click "Local Area Connection" or "High-speed Internet" or whatever it's called and choose properties
  3. Check the box next to "Show icon in notification area when connected"
  4. Hit OK
    [/list=1]
    Now, answer these questions. Are you trying to network more than one computer? Is your DSL modem plugged in via ethernet or via USB? To find this out, I want you to sit down and look at the actual DSL modem, and tell me if it has a USB cable coming out of it, or an ethernet cable coming out of it. If it has a USB cable, then it already is connected via USB. It is still going to show up in your Network Connections though. Once you answer those I may be able to help you more.
    /L.A
 

dabomb

OSNN Senior Addict
Joined
2 Jan 2002
Messages
564
no im not trying to network two computers together, im trying to get the dialup networking computers in the system tray , the ones that tell you how long uve been online and how many bytes have been sent and receieved, my DSL modem is connected via USB. On my LAN or high speed internet connection it is connected via my ethernet card which i dont use. I am trying to get the LAN or high speed internet connection to connect via my USB Alcatel Dsl modem, where is a picture of the LAN or high speed internet connection.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,589
Latest member
EmilyFox