AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton Cooling

bikeman

OSNN Junior Addict
Hello

I'm new to AMD's Processors still kinda, even though I had it since early october, but didn't really have problems with cooling then, now I feel like I"m starting to.

What are the safe temps to use it to?

Also is the rear of the power supply suppose to be warm when in use?

Should I get a new PC Case? (I had shop build my AMD in my old P3 case, if new case is needed, I'll get it really soon)

Hardware

AMd Athlon XP 2500+ Barton with stock heatsink/fan on Abit NF7-S 2.0,
1 front fan, 1 pci slot fan
Northbridge fan(stock)
and Generic ATX Case, bought in 2000, for my Old P3 700, for 19 dollars
Graphics Card--Geforce FX 5600 AGP 8x..256MB

anyone have an answer? Current Temps 41C for System, and 54 C for CPU

1) The PSU probably will get fairly warm. That's why they have fans.
2) I think the 3500 is rated up to 76C or something. I've seem them running fine at 65C, but most people prefer to run them <50C. Personally, 45C was about where I'd keep it under.
3) A P3 case should still be an ATX case, so no problems
4) You really should have a fan (other than the PSU and slot fan) blowing out.
5) Newer P4's run hotter than XP's, the old "amd runs hot" myth is no more
6) Best short money options: Replace heat sink and fan with something better or replace the stock fan with an 80mm adapter and fan.

Ok I will get an exhaust fan, and I'll look for an adapter for the heatsink fan, since I cannot change heatsink, shop won't do it, they said it voids the warranty.

Otherwise I'm happy with my AMD System, (though friend scares me sometimes with the things she says about the temperatures, but I won't believe her anymore) and I will get the exhaust fan as soon as possible

Thanks for replying

ur case maybe an issue...or maybe its just that the room is hot over all..whats the room temp at most of the time?

Hi