720p and hdcp

nod32

OSNN Addict
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
81
I'm going to be building a new computer soon, and assuming all the necessary parts are hdcp compliant would I be able to watch 720p video files? Or does it not even matter on pc?

The other thing is that my monitor only has a vga connection to hook up from the computer. Would 720p make a difference over regular resolutions? I think that answer to that is no, so could I hook the computer up the the monitor with a dvi->hd component cable?
Im a little confused about this.

Thanks,
matt

oh and heres a link to the monitor specs if I left out any needed info
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
just build a comp with whatever parts you want and then hook it up using the regular old RGB analog connection. set your desktop resolution to 1366x768 (the native resolution of that monitor) for the best picture and you'll be good.

as long as you have the right codecs installed and enough cpu power or a video card with hardware decoding, then you can play any kind of video file you like.
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
i have my pc hooked upi to a 37" tv using dvi to hdmi under that res - well 1360x768 :p
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
I have my PC running my monitor at 1920x1200 and my TV at 1920x1080 :)
 

Dark Atheist

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Apr 2003
Messages
6,376
mine would do 1900x1080 if i had all the proper connections, that and a better card
 

Racer_600

OSNN Junior Addict
Joined
7 Apr 2005
Messages
39
I watched a 720p video file on my computer hooked up to a 15 inch monitor via VGA @ 1024*768 and on my TV using DVI to HDMI @ 1920*1080 with no problems. besides the 15 inch monitor setup skipping because that computer was too slow.
The video was still clear and worked over both methods I tried.
 

nod32

OSNN Addict
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
81
just build a comp with whatever parts you want and then hook it up using the regular old RGB analog connection. set your desktop resolution to 1366x768 (the native resolution of that monitor) for the best picture and you'll be good.

as long as you have the right codecs installed and enough cpu power or a video card with hardware decoding, then you can play any kind of video file you like.

so component would be better than the vga hookup?
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
no. VGA and Component are both analogue connections. However your TV may support a higher resolution via Component rather than VGA.
 

Taurus

hardware monkey
Joined
8 May 2002
Messages
3,206
so component would be better than the vga hookup?
i would use vga if your TV allows for the correct resolution. usually they do with just the "plug and play monitor" driver installed or you can try to find a specific one for the TV from Viewsonic's website. but if it only lets you pick standard resolutions like 800x600 or 1024x768 then you will have a picture that's out of aspect and not as sharp. in which case, component might be better.

VGA is still the superior connection as far as analog goes so try that first. you can hook up your current computer to it and play with it now if it will dictate what parts you end up buying..
 

nod32

OSNN Addict
Joined
18 Feb 2006
Messages
81
thanks alot guys, ill let you know what happens when i get the new pc
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,411
Members
5,590
Latest member
AntonioPR