2x1GB + 2x1GB = BSOD

Glass

sgàthan ìnnleachd
Joined
7 Jan 2004
Messages
101
I have 4x1GB DDR2-6400 Crucial Ballistix RAM modules. If I only use 2x1GB at a time, everything works fine, but when I add all of them to the system, it will hang at the BIOS loading screen or Windows will BSOD immediately after boot with IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Originally I thought one of the modules was bad, so after verifying one set of 2 was working, I swapped for the other set, and they worked fine as well, but add all 4, and it no longer works. System specs are in sig. Any ideas?
 

LordOfLA

Godlike!
Joined
2 Feb 2004
Messages
7,026
Windows 32 Bit acts exceedingly randomly when using more than 3GB of RAM.

To effectively use 4GB you will need XP64 or Vista 64.
 

Glass

sgàthan ìnnleachd
Joined
7 Jan 2004
Messages
101
Interesting. That doesn't account for hanging at the initial BIOS screen though. I went ahead and moved over to the other set of DIMM slots on the motherboard, no changes. Asus has a "Qualified Vendor List" of compatible RAM, and this particular model is not on it, so I will probably go with an EVGA 680i and see if it's any better.
 

Shamus MacNoob

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
8 Jan 2002
Messages
4,199
The fact that both sets of 2 work when alone shows that the ram is working with your motherboard. I think you need to understand what was said your not going to be able to use 4 gigs with 32bit windows ..dont matter what motherboard you use.
 

Glass

sgàthan ìnnleachd
Joined
7 Jan 2004
Messages
101
Ja, I'm leaving it at 3GB for now until a DX10 only game forces me to use Vista, it was just the hanging at the BIOS that really concerned me. I would go the XP64 route but a lot of stuff won't run, specifically a decent firewall.
 

ming

OSNN Advanced
Joined
17 Jun 2003
Messages
4,252
If it's hanging at the BIOS stage, you might want to review your settings for your memory and CPU. Try running all the settings at default and see what happens when you boot up. Tweak it at a later stage if you think you need to make minor adjustments.
 

Aprox

OSNN Veteran Addict
Political Access
Joined
25 Aug 2004
Messages
2,738
As ming said, perhaps try checking and changing the memory from 1T to 2T in bios. I have all four banks full, and I have to set it to 2T to even boot.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest profile posts

Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Rest in peace my friend, been trying to find you and finally did in the worst way imaginable.
Terrahertz wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Yo fellas!
Electronic Punk wrote on Sazar's profile.
Where are you buddy?
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Hey EP! All good with me, applying for Microsoft MVP right now, should have done this a while ago.

Notifications don't work, I only found your response by coming back to hunt up some threads, if you want, give me your email address so we can keep in touch easier!
Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
EP, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there!

Forum statistics

Threads
61,997
Messages
673,392
Members
5,586
Latest member
caitlinansell