2 problems with my site using frontpage

Status
Not open for further replies.

the_music_man

aka prodj88 =P
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Messages
2,401
#1
Hi im using frontpage to make my site and I have 2 problems..

1) its geting hard for me to line up my buttons and then trying to put a GIF to the right of the site. look @ first pic for reference.

2)My background for my site is acting very weird. I want it so the backgrounhd picture is maxiomized b/c if go certain lines down it will repeat the pattern thing.
 

Attachments

~bk

I
Political User
Joined
Nov 3, 2003
Messages
3,768
#2
You shouldn't use Microsoft Frontpage first of all. It's crappy.
 

Geffy

OSNN Veteran Addict
Joined
Mar 18, 2002
Messages
7,805
#3
you have one major problem which you need to fix first

frontpage


and I am not kidding
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#6
I'm not sure what you're using to place the images in their respective places, but a good way to do it would be to use CSS positioning. Check out www.w3schools.org for tutorials on this.
 

vern

Dominus
Political User
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
1,571
#8
Frontpage is your biggest problem. Maybe if you could up your page somewhere, we can have a look at the code.
 

the_music_man

aka prodj88 =P
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Messages
2,401
#9
ugh i still can't figure it out. i kinda did something cool but I can't get it so the background image is just maximized. it still does the thing where like if i press enter then eventually it will go into a white background...
 

vern

Dominus
Political User
Joined
Mar 2, 2002
Messages
1,571
#11
Off the top of my head ... the problem there is that drum picture. The games button always comes under the drum picture because Frontpage makes terrible code.. You need to start using tables and put your buttons in rows as well as those drums. Also, looks horrible at my resolution (1280x1024) ... it ends up tiling.

BTW, shouldn't this be in the coding and design section?
 

the_music_man

aka prodj88 =P
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Messages
2,401
#12
yeah i know it ends up tiling, its what im trying to fix. :( also how should i go about making tables...? could you explain b/c im really stupid. and this thread could go under applicaton b/c frontpage isn't working like it should! hehe
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#16
As pointed out, it's turned into more of a coding question now.
Thread moved to Coding

The CSS code that cryogenic has up there should fix the issues you're having with the background.
 

cryogenic

OSNN Addict
Joined
Oct 26, 2003
Messages
241
#18
That's better as far as alignment goes... Add the code I posted above to make the bg not tile on higher resolutions. It tiles pretty badly on 1280x1024. I run 1024x768 at home, and it looks ok at that resolution.. but at 1280x1024, it tiles 4 times over.
 

NetRyder

Tech Junkie
Joined
Apr 19, 2002
Messages
13,256
#20
Create a file stylesheet.css in Notepad and put the above code in.
Upload the CSS file to the same folder as the HTML files on the web server.
Add the following line to the <head> section of your HTML files:
Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="stylesheet.css" title="Default" />
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Members online

No members online now.

Latest posts

Latest profile posts

Perris Calderon wrote on Electronic Punk's profile.
Ep, glad to see you come back and tidy up...did want to ask a one day favor, I want to enhance my resume , was hoping you could make me administrator for a day, if so, take me right off since I won't be here to do anything, and don't know the slightest about the board, but it would be nice putting "served administrator osnn", if can do, THANKS

Been running around Quora lately, luv it there https://tinyurl.com/ycpxl
Electronic Punk wrote on Perris Calderon's profile.
All good still mate?
Hello, is there anybody in there? Just nod if you can hear me ...
Xie
What a long strange trip it's been. =)

Forum statistics

Threads
61,979
Messages
673,325
Members
89,020
Latest member
Amanda99