1394 Connection question

Heeter

Overclocked Like A Mother
Hi Guys,

Why do I have my Firewire connection on my network connections window, along with my ethernet connection? Does this mean that I can connect straight to other computers firewire connection? What can I do with this connection? It is built into my Nforce2 Chaintech Mobo. Sorry, but I am new to this mobo and firewire. Here is a screenshot:

Thanks in advance!

Heeter

Yes, you can connect two computers together using a firewire cable, and share files just like you would with a crossover cable.
Basically, you need to right click the 1394 icon in your Network settings, go to your TCP/IP properties, and assign a static IP and subnet mask. Then assign another IP in the same subnet, and the same subnet mask to the other computer.

You can then just use the UNC name to map drives and share files, like you would on a regular ethernet connection. Just type \\192.168.0.1\Shared_Files (or whatever you chose to assign as the IP address and shared folder name) into the address bar in Windows Explorer (or in Tools>Map Network Drive)

Wow, Okay.

Great, Netryder. Thanks for the info. I thought firewire was just for cameras and stuff.

Heeter

Firewire is very versitale. It can be used for camera, plug and play external devices (Optical and Hard Disks), PC to PC Networking, etc.

JJB

My Firewire PCI card is actually slotted backwards on my MOBO, just so it fits into the bottom designated slot. I wonder why it is so special that it just cannot occupy any PCI slot, like the one you buy.

Heeter

Originally posted by Heeter
My Firewire PCI card is actually slotted backwards on my MOBO, just so it fits into the bottom designated slot. I wonder why it is so special that it just cannot occupy any PCI slot, like the one you buy.

Heeter