xchat fserve

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by Leo154, Nov 21, 2003.

  1. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    is there an app similar to sysreset for xchat? or a simply fserve script? I've googled this, but just incase someone knows something else.... :(
     
  2. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
  3. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    I am trying to get the obsidian one to work, but I really have no idea whats going on. If I can get fserve to work on x-chat, then I am sorted.

    SPeedY_B, I guess you are pretty good with scripting Perl.Python, so please help me out. The website itself doesn't provide a good explanation. And also, it seems to only be for Linux, but it should work on Windows since its just a Perl script.

    So where do I set the variables? The options? etc...
     
  4. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    first things first, do you have activestate perl intalled?
     
  5. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    i think so.. load plugins?
     
  6. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    You'd know if you had it installed, it's a fat-arse 26mb package, available from here: http://activestate.com/Products/ActivePerl/

    Either way, once you've done that, put the script somewhere (data folder is a good place - c:\docs & settings\app data\xchat2\data .. i think) then in X-Chat try /load ./data/scriptname.pl it should say that it's loaded. That may be script dependant.

    anyway, once it's loaded type /help and the current handlers/commands will be listed at the bottom. For example here's mine
    Code:
    (14:41) Plugin defined commands:
    (14:41) 
    (14:41) TIMER
    (14:41) UNLOAD
    (14:41) LOAD
    (14:41) PY
    (14:41) 
    (14:41) iTunes
    (14:41) google
    (14:41) browser
    (14:41) unloadall
    (14:41) unload
    (14:41) load
    (14:41) APPLESCRIPT
    
    "iTunes", "google" and "browser" are all perl scripts, for the itunes script I can put /itunes help and all the commands are reveled to me (the other two have no other commands than "/command whatever")
     
  7. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    alright, I got as far as loading the Obisdian fs. by typing /fs...
    now, how do I actually configure it? if it type /fs load it cannot find file... which never came with the .zip download.
     
  8. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    load what though? I'm not familiar with the script so I don't know what file it's after?
     
  9. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    hmmm... now, I've put the file server up, but how do I notify and so forth?
     
  10. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    it doesnt seem to be working... whenever some one uses the trigger, the fserve doesnt respond...

    I just get "Received a CTCP ENTER from someone" message.

    Is there a setting in x-chat or is this a problem with the script?
     
  11. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    If you've received a ctcp enter that means that someone has sent it, does the script require that to be sent? if so then it should respond when it is.

    If this script doesn't work, then there are more on xchat.org just click the scripts link on the left.
     
  12. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    no... Obisidian seems to be a popular one and people use it... there must be something that I have over looked.

    Thanks tho. :eek:
     
  13. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    its ok now.. i got it all working... :D
     
  14. SPeedY_B

    SPeedY_B I may actually be insane.

    Messages:
    15,800
    Location:
    Midlands, England
    yay :D

    What did you do/change/fix ?
     
  15. Leo154

    Leo154 Guest

    i swear i posted in how... :confused:

    but, its was something in the config file that i forgot to put down the channel's name in the "notify" var.

    only thing wrong now, is I've got messed up stats :eek: