Windows Vista X86 Pre-RC1 build 5536.16385 is out

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by lkyng, Aug 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lkyng

    lkyng OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Ottawa, On, Canada
    We are pleased to announce the release of Pre-RC1 build 5536.16385! This
    build represents significant progress incorporating your Beta 2 and 5472
    feedback. We ask that you please download, burn and install a copy of this
    build as soon as possible. Immediately afterwards we ask that you report
    any problems you encounter. Please note the following recommendations:

    0x45527F10 vista_5536.16385.060821-1900_vista_rc1_x86fre_client-LR1CFRE_EN_DVD.iso

    Upgrade!

    Enjoy direct link:
    https://connect.microsoft.com/windows/Downloads/DownloadDetails.aspx?DownloadID=2789

    No Vista 64 yet ???:crosseyed:
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2006
  2. NetRyder

    NetRyder Tech Junkie Folding Team

    Messages:
    13,256
    Location:
    New York City
    Coming down the pipe already. :)
     
  3. ElementalDragon

    ElementalDragon The One and Only

    Messages:
    3,159
    Location:
    Lehighton, PA
    ......... and i just downloaded the x86 version of 5472 last night when i couldn't install the x64 version shortly after it was released..... now i wanna download this one to see if i can get this one to boot....... *sob*

    edit: then again..... it might be just as much of a waste of bandwidth as it was for me to download the Battlefield 2142 beta..... so WHAT THE HELL!!! lol.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2006
  4. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Bah, I'm going to wait until RC1 around September 7th and just move that to my PROD machine.

    Can't wait :D
     
  5. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    2 hours 20 mins to go :s

    Damn I chose the wrong night to go out.
     
  6. Bootsy

    Bootsy Huh?

    Messages:
    1,124
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    page not found =[
     
  7. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Login to Connect and go to My Participation. You can access the download from there.
     
  8. IDLE

    IDLE OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    375
    when i log into my account, i select my participation, it takes me to my windows live account info. a site that has nothing to do with connect.microsoft.com
     
  9. IDLE

    IDLE OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    375
    Ok, figured out the problem. when i first connected and go the Live website i was using Firefox. but when i connect to Connect.microsoft.com using IE6 it works fine....wft?
     
  10. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Last night Microsoft released version 2.1 of Connect, it may not work with Firefox.
     
  11. IDLE

    IDLE OSNN Senior Addict

    Messages:
    375
    ahhhhh. they cant leave anything alone can they
     
  12. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    Whoola Whoopa, Whoot... Whoot... :) I can not wait to install this...? The problem is I am going to be so busy over the weekend I will not get this installed until Monday. I have been helping the folks with replacing the sofix and facia on their house. Good job I used to be a carpenter, comes in handy.

    I have been really bussy alday and I just turned on my computer for the first time today.

    1hr left...? :) starting to get excited now...
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2006
  13. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    i go to connect and my participation, but i don't see the vista program, whats it called?
     
  14. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Are you enrolled?
     
  15. lancer

    lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    3,093
    Location:
    FL, USA
    i wasn't no, obviously that means i cant enroll now right?
     
  16. Mecham

    Mecham Vista bug finder

    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    UK
    It will be called Windows Vista, Longhorn Server and IE7 Beta Home

    Go into Downloads and you will see right at the top.

    8/24/2006

    vista_5536.16385.060821-1900_vista_rc1_x86fre_client-LR1CFRE_EN_DVD.iso

    If you are not enroled and do not have access then just email the help team, they will be able to sort you out and gain access. The support tem are good as gold.
     
  17. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Mecham listed what it would be called, if you aren't currently enrolled as of this moment, enrollment is not currently available.
     
  18. ElementalDragon

    ElementalDragon The One and Only

    Messages:
    3,159
    Location:
    Lehighton, PA
    WOOOOO!!!!! finally a version of Vista i can use again!!!! love the new cursor and stuff...... though i'm still getting the placebo second monitor.....

    Anybody know of any drivers that definitely work in this new version? maybe Audigy 2 ZS drivers or somethin?

    edit: well..... nevermind the "placebo second monitor" stuff. for some stupid reason Vista automatically adds a second display, with a resolution of 800x600 and 8-bit color. anybody know WHY it does that?

    edit #2: and might i say..... WOW is the sidebar a huge resource hog! freakin move the cursor over it to make it be less transparent, and my CPU usage bounces up to 30%..... and with VERY few processes running, it's already using half my memory (not necessarily only the sidebar.... but still.... wow). One good thing though....... Vista appears to be very well Dual-Core optimized. lol.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2006
  19. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Anyone with an NVIDIA card (more specifically a 6800 Ultra PCI) having problems running direct3d applications?

    Tried the built-in chess game, world of warcraft and counter-strike: source and they all give me horrid artifacts...

    ...was getting to the point where I thought the card had blown, but I just formatted and put windows xp on there and its completely fine now.

    Anyway, if anyone can reproduce that, would be great.
     
  20. ElementalDragon

    ElementalDragon The One and Only

    Messages:
    3,159
    Location:
    Lehighton, PA
    i'm running 2 7900GT's, and get no artifacts whatsoever...... but then again.... the last two builds i tried to install, i couldn't even use since it set an imaginary second display as the primary display with no cloning to the REAL display.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.