Windows Re-activation Issue

DanDaMan

OSNN Newbie
Hello Everyone - I am new to a forum, but my son said that this is the place to get answers to questions so here it goes. I recently had to make a backup copy of a DVD I have that has been scratched up because it started to have read issues. After making my backup copy I rebooted my PC and after rebooting, Windows XP indicated that since it has been installed, there have been several changes and Windows needs to be re-activated. It is a valid copy of XP, so no problem there, but this issue may also occur when I update drivers. Does anyone have suggestions or ideas as to why this is happening? I am at a point that even if I needed to update a driver to resolve an issue, I will try to work around it so that I do not have to re-activate Windows again.

Phone the free-phone number for your country and reactivate.

No biggy, works fine.

Updating drivers doesn't normally kick-in reactivation -- new hardware and firmware updates are a more common reason. Like Lee said, you'll need to call Microsoft to take care of this. I had to do it once before and it was no big deal and took just a few minutes.

Re-activating is not the problem. I am more interested in why this happens. It did not happen in the past. I know that adding new hardware like a hard drive or upgrading a CPU will trigger a re-activation, but I am not convinced that upgrading a driver or copying a CD or DVD should cause this as well. I know that you can use a Win XP key 2 times without calling Microsoft, but when you do call them, they get a little upset that you upgraded "Your Computer" and give you another chance. I know because I have been down that path. The rep basically told me that he would do it just that one time and if it occurrs again, to go buy another key. He further indicated that I should not upgrade my PC. I could go on, but back to the problem at hand... any further suggestions are greatly appreciated.