Windows Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

Discussion in 'Windows Desktop Systems' started by kcnychief, Jun 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    NOTE: Previous versions of Internet Explorer 7 Have to be removed before installing the new BETA.

    Download: Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 for Windows Server 2003 Itanium Edition
    Download: Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 for Windows Server 2003 SP1
    Download: Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 for Windows XP SP2
    Download: Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 (Windows x64 Editions)

    Source: http://bink.nu/Article7596.bink


    EDIT: For un-install assistance for previous betas, as well as beta 3, read this : http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/2006/06/29/650033.aspx
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2006
    Dublex likes this.
  2. Dublex

    Dublex Quazatron R6 droid

    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    cool.

    I'll download it and post comments tonight.

    Kudos for the info kcnychief
     
  3. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    More refined yet again. New toolbar icons (which look nicer).

    Seems to have problems rendering the top bar (Latest News/Forum Posts) of this site. Shows up as white instead of the silverish background.

    Seems faster too. Will update after more use.
     
  4. Lee

    Lee OSNN Proxy

    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    Can we change the GUI to internet explorer 6?
     
  5. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    Lee, no.

    Quick Tabs has been updated. It now scales the view depending on how many tabs you have open. For instance, if you have two tabs open it shows them larger than if you had six tabs open. I personally don't like this because they show up blurry when larger.
     
  6. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  7. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    Paul T has a review up, which goes into detail on some changes.

    http://www.winsupersite.com/reviews/ie7_beta3.asp

    Also, I updated the original post with a link for help in removing previous betas.
     
  8. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    After a couple hours of use... I like the way the new beta looks and it is defiantly faster.

    However, there are a few bugs that jump out at me.

    When I click one of the format buttons the notification bar warns me that a popup has been blocked. What popup? The script prompt? Are you kidding? Besides that, I have OSNN.NET added to my allowed list.
     
  9. lkyng

    lkyng OSNN Addict

    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    Ottawa, On, Canada
    Uninstalling IE7 Beta Releases

    We’ve noticed questions/comments/confusion about uninstalling IE7 so I wanted to highlight one of our FAQs and add a little more detail.
    Uninstalling IE7 will leave you with a fully-functional IE6 and allow you to install the latest release, IE7 Beta 3, which we recommend for all IE7 beta users so they benefit from the latest bug fixes and security updates.

    IEBlog
     
  10. Khayman

    Khayman I'm sorry Hal... Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,518
    Location:
    England
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    am liking it so far, def faster than beta 2.


    i've become a big fan of IE7, epsesh for feeds integration, over the last few months. Use it regualy at work, along side FF (theres room for both), not so much at home yet. that might change when vista comes out properly
     
  11. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    On the last version that came with the Vista tech beta, the forum header was having issues, seems it doesn't like this code:

    <td style="background: url(http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/spread_thing_back.gif);" align="center">

    Not sure if it just me, check the forum header is it borked? If so will have to rewrite it :(
     
  12. Dublex

    Dublex Quazatron R6 droid

    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    I can report that for me its already better than Beta 2 and Beta 1, as the Find function now actually works instead of causing a CTD.

    Looking good so far, I'll report more on other stuff that I find
     
  13. Khayman

    Khayman I'm sorry Hal... Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,518
    Location:
    England
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    no, tis not displaying

    looks a little missformed, try
    style="background: url('http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/spread_thing_back.gif'); align='center';"
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2006
  14. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    Re: Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 3 Discussion (Build 7.0.5450.4)

    Having that same issue but Khay may be onto something.
     
  15. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Hmm, really hard to test something I can't see what its outcome is, will check it out in Vista over the weekend, needs a tidy up anyway really.

    Code:
    <!-- logo -->
    
    <a name="top" />
    <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
     <tr valign="top">
      <td><a href="http://www.osnn.net"><img src="http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/logo.gif" width="169" height="156" border="0" 
    
    alt="" align="top"/></a></td>
      <td width="100%" valign="top">
       <table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
        <tr>
         <td colspan="2" style="background: url(http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/whiteslate.gif);"><img 
    
    src="http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/header_back.gif" width="308" height="39" alt="" /></td>
        </tr>
        <tr>
      <td style="background: url('http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/spread_thing_slice.gif')"><img 
    
    src="http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/spread_thing_slice.gif" alt="" /></td>
         <td style="background: url('http://forum.osnn.net/orbitz/spread_thing_slice.gif')"><iframe 
    
    src="http://www.osnn.net/modules.php?modname=custompage&amp;name=headlines" width="100%" height="117" scrolling="no" 
    
    frameborder="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" allowtransparency="true" /></td>
        </tr>
       </table>
      </td>
     </tr>
    </table>
    
    <!-- /logo -->
    
    <!-- content table -->
    
    $spacer_open
    $_phpinclude_output
    
    <br />
     
  16. kcnychief

    kcnychief █▄█ ▀█▄ █ Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    16,948
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  17. madmatt

    madmatt Bow Down to the King Political User

    Messages:
    13,312
    Location:
    New York
    I was one of many (I'm certain) that asked for the "drag and drop" feature. It makes me really happy that they are listening.
     
  18. michali

    michali OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    15
    Well, aren't you all lucky! I cannot install Beta 3. I removed Beta 2 from Add/Remove programs and disabled firewalls, antispyware and antivirus. Downloaded OK and went through installation process. I am not sure at what point it stopped and sent a message that it could not be installed and to follow the link from my desktop for trouble shooting. That advised alot of registry tweeking, which I am not into. Did all you successful people have to do that, or did it just install with no problems? I have now done a system restore and am back with Beta 2.
     
  19. michali

    michali OSNN Junior Addict

    Messages:
    15
    I thought I would post with the resolution to the problem in case anyone else cannot install. Just reboot in Safe mode and install...works fine!
     
    Sazar likes this.
  20. Khayman

    Khayman I'm sorry Hal... Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    5,518
    Location:
    England
    thanks for the follow up michali, for me it all went ok in normal boot. sounds like in your case some files were not released by the OS
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.