Windows 2000 Server 3-36 GB HD, Raid 5 question

Gaston314

OSNN Newbie
I am a novice when it comes to Servers. As a result, I have a question about our medical office network Server. We have 8 desktops running off our Dell Poweredge Server using Windows 2000 Server. As I understand the hardware setup, the server has 3 36GB hard drives but only 2 actually show up when you double click My Computer. I have been told that the 3rd drive doesn't appear because it is the Raid and is hidden.

My question is this: as we add more patient information to each patient's record I would think that the amount of "used" space on the 2 visible drives would grow. However, the "used" and "free" space on drives C and D stay approximately the same. Where is the data base being saved if the C and D drives don't show an increase in "used" GB's??

I might add that after several years of data input, everything is in each patient record when we access their records. But where this information is being saved is a complete mystery to me unless the SQL data base is being saved on the third, hidden drive. And finally, if the data base is being saved to the hidden drive, how can I access the drive to see how much drive space I have left?

Thank you in advance for any assistance, advice or help.

Re: Windows 2000 Server 3-36 GB HD, Raid 5

Well I'm no RAID Guru myself but from what I know I believe you need at least 4 drives to have anything above a RAID 1 or 0, I don't think you can RAID 5 3 drives. I am wondering if the server is setup in such a way that you have 1 drive being used as say a system drive and then the other 2 drives are setup in a RAID 1 config so that they are mirrored in the event of a HDD failure.