Win2008server for gaming?

Discussion in 'Windows Server Systems' started by Heeter, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. Heeter

    Heeter Overclocked Like A Mother

    Messages:
    2,732
    Hey all,

    reading on some site that peeps are using WinServer 2008 as a gaming platform.

    Is this for real?

    I thought WinServer2008 was directx8 or something like that?

    Thanks,


    Heeter
     
  2. ming

    ming OSNN Advanced

    Messages:
    4,252
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think 2008 would be suitable as a gaming platform. But like 2003, you can turn it into a workstation.
     
  3. Dark Atheist

    Dark Atheist Moderator Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    6,376
    Location:
    In The Void
    you can turn 2008 into a workstation from what i understand but you will need the drivers for the hardware, but your better off using xp as all the games will be far more compatible
     
  4. LordOfLA

    LordOfLA Godlike!

    Messages:
    7,027
    Location:
    Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
    the few games I tried locked up when exiting. YMMV but I'd stick to vista for gaming.
     
  5. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT Builder/Installer

    Messages:
    529
    Windows Server 2008 uses DirectX 10 just like Windows Vista.
     
  6. clifgriffin

    clifgriffin OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    8
    I will never understand why people insist on using server platforms for gaming. I mean, does the word "server" after the operating system name really make it more 1337?

    For the most part, an operating system should be used for what it was designed to do best.

    ...IMHO.
     
  7. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    The reason in this case is because Server Win2k8 uses minimal resources and as a consequence, it loads much faster and also consumes less memory when running.

    However, some of those resources are critical for stability when running applications Win2k8 is not designed to run. You can mess around with settings and "hack" bits and pieces of applications for smooth running but it does require a lot more babying than Vista.

    I was in 2 minds about whether to slap Win2k8 on my system when my additional 4 gig's arrives or to go with Vista Ultimate SP1 x64. Decided to go with the latter and deep-dive in and clean the install so the only resources running are critical for my needs.
     
  8. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT Builder/Installer

    Messages:
    529
    Exactly! I made brief attempts at doing this with Windows 2003, but it just never seemed practical enough for me.

    Do you use vLite to do this? I love vLite! It makes Vista so much better for me.
     
  9. Grifffin

    Grifffin Report Developer

    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    I would have to agree. the server systems aren't meant for gamin. I guess you could run a Virtual Machine on it but those are even worse because then it isn't using all the memory it can or should be.
     
  10. Electronic Punk

    Electronic Punk Administrator Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    18,590
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Vlite just stops things from being installed at all.
    Just as easy to crack down on services and anything else thats running and you decide isn't really needed.
     
  11. Sazar

    Sazar F@H - Is it in you? Staff Member Political User Folding Team

    Messages:
    14,905
    Location:
    Between Austin and Tampa
    Exactly :)
     
  12. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT Builder/Installer

    Messages:
    529
    Actually, in vLite you can also "Skip user creation" so that you can use the true Administrator account, because even if you disable UAC under a normally created quasi-Administrator account under Vista, there are still annoying things that occur which don't when using the true Administrator account.

    I can't provide a list as although I've installed Vista both ways, I quickly became spoiled using Vista with the true Admin account, versus the normal way with a quasi-Admin account. Therefore, I haven't used the normal way in over a year. I seem to recall some of the difference in how Vista acts had to do with "Open with" from the context menu, but I'm positive that I had noticed other differences.

    Also, I would argue that it is easier to turn off or remove Vista features from vLite, along with the unattended settings, so that Vista is as set up as possible as soon as it boots the first time, besides that vLite explains what all sorts of parts of Vista do and what the consequences of turning them off or removing them are.
     
  13. Shamus MacNoob

    Shamus MacNoob Moderator Political User

    Messages:
    4,199
    Location:
    L'Ile Perrot Quebec
    How much is a license for server 2008 these days , is it really worth it? I am sure everyone here pays for their software right ?



    Windows Server 2008 Standard
    $999
    Available in 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Includes 5 CALs (User or Device, chosen after purchase)
    Windows Server 2008 Standard
    $1,199
    Available in 32-bit and 64-bit versions. Includes 10 CALs (User or Device, chosen after purchase)
     
  14. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT Builder/Installer

    Messages:
    529
  15. Sasa_RI

    Sasa_RI OSNN One Post Wonder

    Messages:
    1
    Well,i'm running it for 3-4 months and its 20-30% faster than Vista and i didn't so far have any problem with any game.
    In fact games runs about 10FPS faster (Crysis DX9&10,STALKER,COD4,Batllefield,FEAR,Need for Spead,HL2E2)

    I'm using drivers for Vista and even few for XP because I'm on NF2 platform.
    It looks just like Vista (Aero) but is much smoother an faster.It gets close to XP in speed.

    Give it a tray.Especially if you run Vista.