Win XP Home Admin Tools missing

M

melliott1963

I'm running Windows XP Home edition and I noticed that when I went into Control Panel / Administrative Tools, there is nothing in there (I was particularly looking for the services icon). Now I know that I can also access the Services from Computer Management, but is this right that there is nothing under Administrative Tools within the Control Panel, and if not, how do I get the icons installed?

Thanks for any help.

Are you using "Power Toys" for Windowz XP???

If yes, did you uncheck any of the "Control Panel Extentions" under "Tweak UI"???

And what exactly do you mean, "there is nothing in there".

I'll check when I get home to see if I have unchecked anything under TweakUI (can't remember if I've even installed it or not!).

When I say 'there is nothing in there', I mean just that, there are no icons, just a blank window.

Just as an aside, I am an administrator on the system.

I had a similar problem once after using a registry cleaner. You can try to rebuild the icons in contralpanel/administrative tools one by one by rightclicking - new - shortcut and insert the following commands:
Component Services
%SystemRoot%\system32\Com\comexp.msc
Computer Management
%SystemRoot%\system32\compmgmt.msc /s
Services
%SystemRoot%\system32\services.msc /s
Event Viewer
%SystemRoot%\system32\eventvwr.msc /s
Performance
%SystemRoot%\system32\perfmon.msc /s
Data Sources
%SystemRoot%\system32\odbcad32.exe

Well that explains what happened to mine. Any idea what reg cleaner did the damage?

I used jv16 powertools. Strangely restoring the backups made by the program didn't repair the damage. Been very reluctant in using regcleaners since then.

I use 3 or 4. When I add the shortcuts (thanx yoyo) I'll try one at a time & see who the offender is & try & see what has to be ignored.

You need to log-on as an Administrator in the Home edition to access these tools.