Which one?

Discussion in 'Linux & BSD' started by buzzstpoint, Jun 7, 2005.

1. buzzstpoint

buzzstpoint Computervitals.com Political User

Heres what I got.

Panasonic Toughbook CF-27
    500mhz
    256meg RAM
    Hot swap floppy and cdrom
    Touch screen monitor

Question is.
    What would be a good linux choice.. I'm not good at linux. so I need it to install and load up.

I tried Redhat and mandrake and seemed to bulky for this machine. Also tried Lindows/Linspire 4.5 That wouldn't work cause I couldn't load anything on it..

My last choice was NetBSD install was tricky but I got it.. But it would only boot to console. No gui.. I was told to type root, then type the password. I did then they told me to type startx. When I did this it scrolled a few things then just went to a black screen..

So that didn't work..
    What would be a good choice of Linux.
    also. is it hard to make my Pcmcia Wireless and lan cards to work.. Also what about my touch screen?

2. X-Istence

X-Istence * Political User

I want a toughbook :p

I suggest either SuSe or Fedora.

3. ep0niks

ep0niks OSNN Junior Addict

You have some tricky hardware.. you might want to try Ubuntu (GNOME flavor) /Kubuntu (KDE flavor) 5.04 Live CD to test if it find proper driver for your Wifi card and touchscreen.. or as X-Istence said Fedora or SuSe. Both are nice but i prefer SuSe for it's overall presentation and YaSt system.

4. lancer

lancer There is no answer! Political User Folding Team

or if all else fails just get windows xp, all thw other linux crap is for people who can't admit when they're beaten.

5. i say suse would do it

6. ejn74

ejn74 Folding Master! Political User Folding Team

I agree with suse. It is easy to install from DVD and easy to update. 9.3 has firefox loaded without any work. It is very clean to me.

7. mfarley

mfarley OSNN Senior Addict Folding Team