What Do You Folks Think of the Bloglines Beta?

kcnychief

??? ??? ?
Political Access
Anyone check out the Bloglines beta recently? If so, what do you guys think?

I have been using Bloglines for a few years now - have tried a few other web based and desktop readers and always go back to it. It took me a little getting used to for the new look/feel of it, and honestly wasn't sure I liked it at first.

However, I do really enjoy how they now handle the items being marked as read. With the current version, if you click on a feed it defaults all items within that feed as read. Not a big deal, but if you have to run or close the browser, or IE crashes you can't go back to those unless you do a display within the last 72 hours for example. I dig how you actually need to scroll over the article to have it marked as read, rather nifty.

Just actually checked it out for the first time yesterday (I know, I'm cutting edge), but will do again later today and post anything else I like/disklike.

What about you?

Does it offer anything over Google Reader? I started off my RSS whoring using BlogLines, yet moved over to GReader when it went all fancy and haven't looked back since.

I will try to post screenshots this weekend at some point, don't have any sophisticated software for that at work and using mspaint will be painful :D However, you seem to be able to test drive it here? https://beta.bloglines.com/b/view

I thought it was funny yesterday when it said my browser was not compatible and I need to use Firefox, but I said continue anyway with IE.

I do 90% of my RSS at work, and as I mentioned before I think the Outlook part needs an add-on. We can't download and install software from the internet at work without things going through QA first - anything outside of that policy is violation and grounds for termination. Translation = I use Bloglines - which I actually had to get special access just to get to the website since normally it's blocked :p