Want to install new hard drive in Dell system

David_L6

OSNN Addict
OK, here's what I have and what I'd like to do....

I bought a (new) Dell 8400 off eBay. It came with a 40GB HD and a 3.4 GHz CPU. I used the 3.4 CPU in another computer and purchased a 3.8 GHz for this computer. I also used the ram in the other computer. Needless to say this computer has never been used as it's been without memory.

I just ordered more ram and a WD Raptor HD. What am I going to have to do to install the OS (Windows XP with SP2) on the new HD so I can get this computer up and running?

just replace the old hard drive with the new one an install xp, from either a stand alone disk or the recovery disks that hopefully came with the computer. oh and just format the new hard drive first, even if it is new.

lancer,

I do have a "Reinstallation CD".

How do I reformat the harddrive??? I've never done anything this involved before.... All I've ever done is change out or add video and sound cards, CPU's, PSU's, RAM.... Just simple stuff.