Transparent Sigs/etc

N

Not Bman

I'm doing pretty good as a Graphic Designer, I know how to do this and that etc, you know everything I pretty much need to know, execpt one thing. If you look at my sig, its kinda scrachy and messed up at the edges. This is because I don't know how to save, or make a proper transparent file. I make what I want, and then I saved it as Gif, and this is howit turns out.....

Go to "Save for Web" and choose "Gif" as your format. Then you want to tick the box that says "Transparency". Then click on "Matte" and choose the color of the background of forum posts, which would be #f5f5ff.

Basically with the "matte", photoshop takes your image and adds some "f5f5ff" around the edges, so that it appears to be transparent, when it infact its just the same color as the background. So it's an illusion. By default its white, and that's why the corners on your sig are white, and therefore jaggy.

Alternatively you could just save it as a PNG and screw all the IE users.

P.S. The "I know pretty much everything" attitude is bad :p

Attachments

• Untitled-1.jpg
    Untitled-1.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 169
So there is no real way, if u want it nice and smooth, to have it transparent for all sites the same.... lol

Bman™ said:
So there is no real way, if u want it nice and smooth, to have it transparent for all sites the same.... lol

There is. You can use PNGs. But then you face the problem of IE not being able to display PNGs properly. Which means 90% of the Internet won't be able to see your image properly.

So there is a way, but due to some ****ty code in IE, it doesn't work as its supposed to.

lol, alright I'll remember that...screw IE users lmao (unless you are one)

Thanks alot man, I have finally figured out web images now!

Very good info ideed GM, reps coming :)

EDIT: Have to spread it around, sigh :(

I have a list of people I owe rep to, I'll add you to it ;)